Lemon Tabouli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by newyorknightingale
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
fresh and healthy and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newyorknightingale

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
This recipe is like the one I first tasted years ago when I spent some time in Lebanon. Whenever I go to a Lebanese restaurant I always check the Tabouli but none can compare with the tangy goodness I first had. It's the quality and quantity of lemon that makes the difference between just so-so and great. This one comes close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This was my first attempt at tabouli and I think it turned out great! I left out the parsley and just added more mint. I also used less than 4 cups for a water and it still took longer than 30 minutes to soak it up. Beware, this makes A LOT! I've been eating leftovers for lunch all week. If you're not absolutely crazy about lemon, cut it back a bit, as it turns out VERY lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Very tasty, and not overly lemony IMO (though I do adore citrus). Because some of the previous reviews complained about how long it took for the bulgur to soak, I microwaved the mixture for a minute on high before letting it sit, and it turned out just fine after 30 minutes. I also increased the parsley to a full 2 cups, and also added some chopped tomato and cucumber for a bit extra chunkiness. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great base, but like many others, I added more parsley (2 heaping cups), mint (1 heaping cup), plus diced persian cucumbers and tomatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Palombo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caravanmom
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was excellent after making some modifications. A used 1 1/4 Cups (uncooked) Couscous and increased the Parsley to 1 Cup. I also added 1 medium sized finely diced tomato and 1/2 of a medium sized chopped and seeded Cucumber and some chopped Green Onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caravanmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Having only tried tabouli at our Armenian restaurant, this was definitely NOT what I expected, having no tomatoes or onions and a minimal amount of parsley. It was quite tasty, though. Because of the other reviews of way too much lemon, I left out the zest and only used the juice. It wasn't lemony at all. It was really good, though and will be a nice addition to our summer salad recipe rotation. Next time, I'll add a few veggies (cucumbers, bell peppers, tomatoes, etc.) and more parsley and mint, but thanks for a yummy, different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
After reading the suggestions, I decreased the lemon zest to 1 lemon and increased the mint and parsley to 1/2 c. I also added three green onions and 1 c. tomatoes chopped. It went very well with the Carrots with dill butter and Almond topped fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I love lots of lemon on mine, and I like a lot of parsley and fresh mint. I also add tomato and cucumber, as one reviewer suggested. Sometimes I make it with Israeli couscous. Occasionally, rice is nice, or an addition of lentils to whatever grain/pasta you are using. It's always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States