Lemon Syllabub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This is a lovely dessert! Try substituting Limoncello for the white wine, it lends a more subtle hint of alcohol. I also like using double cream (Devonshire) for its richness and serve with a lemon ginger cookie or lemon biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
While I think it's dubious to warn parents about giving their kiddos the equivalent of a teaspoon or two of wine, I have to give Sarah-neko props for sharing this recipe. It's essentially glorified whipped cream, but that's not a bad thing! It comes together easily and earned me tons of praise when I hosted dinner a few weeks back. I used half splenda, half sugar, incorporating the sugar first and the splenda after I had stiff peaks. I chose Pacific Rim Dry Riesling because it's relatively inexpensive, not too sweet, not too dry. I plan to add this recipe to my permanent collection. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Very delish! I changed the presentation a little bit. I put sponge cake in the bottom of a parfait cup, then a layer of fresh blueberries, and then topped with syllabub and a few more berries. It was wonderful!!! Although, with the added sugar from the cake and berries, in the future I would reduce the sugar added to the whip cream mixture, as it was quite sweet. Overall though, it was a huge hit, and I will certainly be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Star Dust Mining Company
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I was going to a dinner part hosted by a bunch of foodies who drink expensive wine, eat cheese I have never heard of and use the word "palate" in their sentences. Needless to say I didn't want to bring my usual spicy popcorn or deviled eggs. This recipe was super easy and a HUGE hit with the foodies. They now think I'm this amazing dessert chef. Next time I will add a little less sugar - I'm not a huge fan of sweet sweets. It takes a while to whip - I used a hand mixer on low until I got impatient and put in on medium - it didn't seem to hurt it at all. I'm excited to experiment with adding flavors and fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star Dust Mining Company

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, New York, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Chilled is the way to go. Note: starts to separate after a day but can be re-whipped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This has been very popular with guests. I love to serve it when I cook seafood. I pair it with lemon curd, either swirled or layred. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I looked like a star when I brought this for a light unique dessert. Easy & wonderful over berries, decorated with flowers from my garden & lemon peel swirls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melonie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Easy to make, and is so simple. Wonderful tasting too, one has to enjoy a fattening dessert every so often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
Light and delicious as well as being quick and easy to prepare. Makes a great alternative to a Sabayon/Zambaglioni for a dinner party, since it is made in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This dessert is delicious,light and creamy. The 2 things I did not like about it though is the Lemon Zest(Lemon Peelings) in it. And it is also fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States