Lemon Syllabub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
When I saw this recipie I thought it sounded interesting but I wasn't sure if it was in a good way or a bad way. I had a dinner with a bunch of foodies and figured I'd subject them to it as an experiment. We all loved it. I also used a dry Riesling (as someone else suggested), fresh lemon juice, and manufacturing cream (40% butterfat). I didn't really notice the nutmeg but it didn't matter. Some of us found it a little on the sweet side and so I would make it with a little less sugar next time (given that someone made it with half sugar/half Splenda, I think slightly less sugar will still stabilize the cream). It sounds like it will be rich and heavy but it comes out very light and perfect for a warm evening and it takes almost no time to make. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I htought this was ok. My two children thought it was disgusting and my husband tasted it and turned his nose up to it. I ate mine and thought is was ok. I could only eat a little glass full. It would have been better without the wine, then again we aren't big wine drinkers. I most likely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Like mantovani I can't wait to serve this to company. Minimum work, prepare ahead and guests I'm sure will think you're very clever my family certainly did. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 5, 2006
We totally loved it! We can't wait to try it out on our next dinner guests! Comes across as impressive because it looks so nice and is an unusual desert, but simple and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
While I think it's dubious to warn parents about giving their kiddos the equivalent of a teaspoon or two of wine, I have to give Sarah-neko props for sharing this recipe. It's essentially glorified whipped cream, but that's not a bad thing! It comes together easily and earned me tons of praise when I hosted dinner a few weeks back. I used half splenda, half sugar, incorporating the sugar first and the splenda after I had stiff peaks. I chose Pacific Rim Dry Riesling because it's relatively inexpensive, not too sweet, not too dry. I plan to add this recipe to my permanent collection. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly and it was great! A light and tasty dessert after a heavy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Wow!! What a refreshing treat!! Those folks from the "days gone by" have created an unforgetable Tongue-tingling delight. This is a remarkable desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
A coworker made this for my birthday, and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
Light and delicious as well as being quick and easy to prepare. Makes a great alternative to a Sabayon/Zambaglioni for a dinner party, since it is made in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Easy to make, and is so simple. Wonderful tasting too, one has to enjoy a fattening dessert every so often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States