Lemon String Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
My mother and I just love these!!! They remind me of my Italian grandmother....she used to make these when I was a child. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEPURPLEMAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I boiled the beans for 10 minutes, removed into a bowl and then covered them in one large lemons juice and garlic salt. I thought they were a great side dish and I didn't even bother with the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodiano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I cooked my string beans in some salted boiling water for a few minutes (3-4 minutes), I used frozen string beans. We like our veggies crunchy so I undercook a little bit and then quickly rinse with cold water. I sauteed the garlic in the olive oil. I threw the green beans in a bowl poured garlic and oil over the whole thing and squeezed 1/2 of a fresh lemon and tossed again. Added a tiny bit of salt and it was great. I think 1/4 cup of oil is too much. 2 tablespoons is more than enough. Follow your common sense when cooking and you'll never go wrong. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
For those who don't like the tartness of the lemon juice, cut down to 1 tablespoon and use the zest of half a lemon. Loads of lemon flavor without the sourness. I also cut down on the olive oil to 2 tablespoons and added a bit of fresh ground black pepper. One of my favorite ways to prepare green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I think you need to be Italian to really enjoy this dish. My boyfriend's whole family makes a variation of these green beans and they love them. My friend's overweight 13 year old daughter won't eat any vegetables, she told her mom the only ones she can eat are green beans. So I made her a batch and she ate the whole thing! I used 4 garlic cloves and sunflower oil instead of oil (my preference). I also substitute a little white vinegar in place of some of the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
These remind me of the green beans from Bucco di Beppo, one of my favorite Italian restaurants. I loved them, my son who wont eat green beans ate the. Husband said they were ok. I personally could eat them like this everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Very good! I increased the garlic to 2 cloves and used some McComick Montreal Steak Seasoning to the dressing. Very Quick and Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Love the flavor. I lightly steamed the green beans and then heated up 1/8 cup of olive oil and 2 tablespoons of butter and garlic in a fry pan. Stir fried the green beans lightly, adding salt and pepper to taste. Topped with sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States