Lemon Star Bursting Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These cookies were easy and oh so delicate. There is No way to shake the coating on at the end of the baking time, Way to fragile, so I used a sieve to add the sugar mixture. It was just enough to make them more lemony. I made them in orange flavor as well. I was taking these to a birthday party at the park and was very concerned they would crumble when someone picked them up, they held together and were being fought over by the 5 Yo birthday girls Mom and her sister. The party food was spicy Mexican food and the cookies were a Cool addition. Very good flavor. These would be really nice for a little girls tea party. These cookies spread like Crazy, even keeping the dough/cookie sheet in the fridge and using half butter half shortening. Thank You Mariann01
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Two things are true: I love lemon, and I often tweak a recipe. I thought these were going to be a little bland when I tasted the dough, so I added a good 1/2 teaspoon of lemon zest. I have a lot of powdered sugar/Koolaid mix left. I got to thinking about that and figured that how do you cut in half that small of a package of Kool-Aid--and what would I do with the rest--so I will just save it for another batch. The Kool-Aid gives a sharp taste on the tongue, and at first I wasn't sure if I liked that. I'll see how that holds up as the cookies set more. By the way, the size of the Kool-Aid package is now .23 oz! The cooking time is right on target, but I will make the cookies smaller next time (I used the smallest cookie scoop) so I'll watch the time. I got 36 cookies from this batch. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Very good, but my friend and I added about 1 1/2 teaspoon of lemon extract on accedent and as a suprise for our family members... it sure was!! Also, the 3 stars was because it was very crumbly and fell apart easily, but the taste was yummy. This was the first recipe I have made on this site, and it was simple. The only other mistake was that we accedently put the confectioner's sugar and butter into the same bowl as the powder mix. It still turned out great but would probably make more carefully. :) Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdluv4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
great but I doubled the recipe but my sister told me to use 1 pkg of kool aid for the whole thing it was much better. (a whole package of kool aid for a single batch was too bitter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I just finished making these cookies and they turned out awesome! I had no problem whatsoever and I followed the recipe adding fresh lemon zest (about a teaspoon) to batter. I used a little more than half the lemonade mix with the powdered sugar and it was just enough tartness! I had no problem with crumbling - didn't ruin one cookie. This recipe is a keeper and will be added to my favorites. Can't wait for my family and friends to sample them for the holidays! Definitely 5 stars++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Super easy to make. "Drop them in the powdered sugar" was laughable since they were terribly crumbly until the next day. It seemed they need 24 hours to cool before you could pick them up. I wasn't sure why but there was a terrible salty taste that stayed in my mouth afterwards. I wondered if the addition of an egg would make a difference in the crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was exactly what I was looking for! Wonderful!!! Tart, buttery and tender. Girl Scout Lemon Coolers have nothing on these lovelies! I measured my flour before I sifted which gave me balls that didn't spread or change much at all in the baking. (The reviewer who commented that they spread may have measured AFTER sifting, which I USUALLY do). I needed 125 cookies for Christmas gifts and 4 recipes only gave me 100 - my cookie scoop wasn't working well because of the stiffness of the dough so mine weren't perfectly uniform. I under mixed being concerned about them turning hard. No such problem, a few fell apart in my hands and had to be eaten (no hardship, believe me). I also wondered if they would be lemony enough and considered adding some zest. I was glad I hadn't though - the sugar coating is very tart and needs the balance of the subtle dough. Also, I made 2 recipes of the coating and had most of it left at the end. I will have enough to last me a very long time, again, no hardship. I did use the bag idea, but one cookie at a time and VERY gently burying and unburying it. Give 'em a try if you are a lemon lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
These cookies are great! They have a nice, lemony flavor. I did have a bit of a problem with them crumbling, but they still tasted great. birdluv4ever, your reviews and pictures are awesome! I found your profile and added you to "Cooks I Like". I saw that you did the same. I also voted all of your reviews helpful because they are. It looks like you're off to a great start with baking! My only question: Who is in the background of your picture of the corn dog bites?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I just baked the first bunch. Actually, even making rather small balls, I didn't get more than 30 cookies. Since they are really yummy, I'll just start over tomorrow... I was happy about the recommendation not to coat them using a bag. I also made two changes: I added 1/2 tablespoon of baking soda and I used "Vanilla-Sugar" (unfortunately it couldn't find it here so I braught some over from my last trip to Germany - I love to add that to my coffee along with a little cinnamon...) and a little less sugar. The vanilla taste comes through quite nicely and is just a little subtler than the extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States