Lemon Squares III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I really wanted a lemon square that would be tart but this was so sweet. Almost too sweet I made a really, almost sour and bitter, frosting to try to make it more do able but it still was too much. I really couldn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie van der Let

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
It really looks delicious..will try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twilightshimmer
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I didn't have any coconut, so I left it out. Great recipe. I'd never tasted these before, and i was surprised at how good they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twilightshimmer

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Did not care for this at all! ONe of the worst lemon bars that I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
These are very similar to a recipe my mom makes - only she uses less flour and butter in the bottom layer, and no coconut. Regarding a previous review, the bottom layer isn't supposed to have lemon in it - although, you can tweak the recipe any way you want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Really great! I used butter-flavored Crisco instead of butter for the crust and it came out awesome! I also forgot to put in the coconut, oops (baking with a 21 mth old can do that to you!)and they still tasted super good. I halved the frosting and put it on the squares while they were hot to make more of a glaze, so it wouldn't be too overwhelmingly sweet. Thanks! Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy476

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This recipe was reeeally lemony and good! But very very sweet. Cutting down on sugar might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This is a family favorite that my mom made when I was growing up. My recipe calls for 1/2 cup powdered sugar in the crust instead of white sugar. I also bake mine in a 13 x 9 pan and cut in small 1 inch square pieces for almost a "candy" type of taste rather than eating a big bar. They are wonderful--I have always gotten rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Webster, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This dessert is VERY sweet. I liked it, but I don't think I'll rush to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
yum! lovely crust but rather crubly overall.i can deal with the crumbs =) this is some great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States