Lemon Squares III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I really wanted a lemon square that would be tart but this was so sweet. Almost too sweet I made a really, almost sour and bitter, frosting to try to make it more do able but it still was too much. I really couldn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie van der Let

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
It really looks delicious..will try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twilightshimmer
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I didn't have any coconut, so I left it out. Great recipe. I'd never tasted these before, and i was surprised at how good they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twilightshimmer

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Did not care for this at all! ONe of the worst lemon bars that I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
These are very similar to a recipe my mom makes - only she uses less flour and butter in the bottom layer, and no coconut. Regarding a previous review, the bottom layer isn't supposed to have lemon in it - although, you can tweak the recipe any way you want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Really great! I used butter-flavored Crisco instead of butter for the crust and it came out awesome! I also forgot to put in the coconut, oops (baking with a 21 mth old can do that to you!)and they still tasted super good. I halved the frosting and put it on the squares while they were hot to make more of a glaze, so it wouldn't be too overwhelmingly sweet. Thanks! Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy476

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This recipe was reeeally lemony and good! But very very sweet. Cutting down on sugar might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This is a family favorite that my mom made when I was growing up. My recipe calls for 1/2 cup powdered sugar in the crust instead of white sugar. I also bake mine in a 13 x 9 pan and cut in small 1 inch square pieces for almost a "candy" type of taste rather than eating a big bar. They are wonderful--I have always gotten rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Webster, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This dessert is VERY sweet. I liked it, but I don't think I'll rush to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
yum! lovely crust but rather crubly overall.i can deal with the crumbs =) this is some great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States