Lemon Squares I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
The recipe was simple to make. (minus zesting the lemon)However the bake times were off. I was preparing them for a friend and planned accordingly to the times provided. I summed it up to be about 45 minutes of baking and thirty minutes of prep. Long story short my friend ended up waiting an extra half hour for them and I had to turn them over only half cooked. The crust alone took nearly a half hour and the filling took an hour. The finished product mediocre for all the time spent on them; the filling was blan and the crust outweighed it (the crust itself was not good at all) I would never make this again (Not that my friend would ever want them again after how bad they turned out.) This recipe turned out to be a disapointment and a wast of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This recipe was lovely!!! The base recipe is some what larger than the filling so I doubled the filling mixture, and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
I am obsessed with lemon squares, and although these were not the best I have tried, they were a good "bar type cookie". I am partial to a gooy lemon filling and a melt-in-your-mouth type crust. The filling was just ok and the crust was a tad too thick. But, they were loved by everyone else (who are not as picky as me about lemon squares!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
ok but not very thick in the pan. thought this would be more like lemon pie filling in the middle. oh well i will keep on looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I was impressed with these squares. They are very easy to make- I opted not to put the walnuts and instead used coconut. I also followed a couple of the reviews and added less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This recipe worked so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Great recipe, but I agree that the original recipe is just too sweet. I used 1 1/4 cups of sugar in the lemon mixture (the original recipie calls for 2) and still found it a tad too sweet. I plan on using only 1 cup in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
Good but way too sweet. I'll make this one again, but I'll cut the sugar by at least 1/2 cup. The cookie part was just right in a 9x12" pan. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Terrific taste! absolutely delicious! good thing, too, because I found them a lot of work. I am not fond of baking...I am more of a candy maker. Too many bowls, pans, mix this and mix that... But! again... they are delicous! I had some coconut left over from another recipe, so I threw a handful of coconut into one batch...superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
This recipe was good, but far too much crust to enjoy the lemony filling. I will cut down the flour, not the sugar in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States