Lemon Square Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I don't know why everyone is tweaking the original recipe so much, this is almost exactly like the recipe my nana used to make lemon squares 70 years ago, the only difference is the butter in the crust is softened not melted in hers. If you don't find it lemony enough, it is probably your lemons. Since my nana passed 28 years ago, I have been the designated baker if these for my family and have actually found I get a sharper lemon flavor using bottled juice rather than fresh squeezed and have NO need for zest or extract. I lost my recipe for a time when I moved across the country and had to go searching for a similar one and this is the closest one I've found. Thanks for submitting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Love this recipe. It is delicious. Super sweet though, so I recommend making it and freezing squares for a later date unless you're having lemon-loving guests over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I am a rookie baker and these came out great. I followed the original recipe in addition to the feedback provided by "CareBear". I used Minute Main real frozen lemon juice and I increased everything in the crust by 25% to make a thicker bar. I greased the glass baking pan with Crisco spray on Butter and nothing stuck! The crust will be firm, so use a firm knife for cutting. I will def make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cor135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I made the recipe just as written and the crust and filling are luscious. I wish more people who rate recipes would rate the actual recipe and not a recipe that they have morphed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Delicious and i didn't change a thing. I would have maybe added a lemon zest the next time. But you didn't notice that it needed anything more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Excellent Lemon Bars! I have been making these for over 5 years now and they are a constant request from friends and family. I use 1/2 cup + 2 tbs lemon juice and the zest of 1 lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Great recipe only added a little more lemon to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I made this recipe today and it was AMAZING! I could hardly stay away from it. Made the exact recipe except baked the crust for 17 min. I plan to take this dish for Easter dinner and I'm sure it will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by THOM79
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Very easy to make and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kiramavery
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
They were very good! However the lemon filling never seemed to set fully and I added on a lot of cooking time. Eventually I had to take them out of the oven because the top was getting a little too brown. The crust was fine but the top of the filling was a little overcooked and the bottom was a little gooey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States