Lemon Square Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Well I read the reviews and tried adding the additional lemon juice, and reducing the butter and confectionery sugar. I also followed the baking instructions exactly and the crust came out BURNT. These were made for a family reunion and I simply could not serve something like that. I recommend following the recipe as written - which is what I will do if I ever try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt808

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
The recipe was very good, it needed a few adjustments however. If you instead of using melted butter, you would not melt it and cut it in as if you were making pastries. Also if you add just another tsp. of lemon juice it isn't too sweet. Overall a very good recipe and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Hubby and work mates loved them. Didn't change a thing. Did line pan with parchment paper as no matter what I do or don't do, any lemon bars/squares stick to pan :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
These are really tasty. I did follow the recipe per the letter on this one. You could totally cut back on the butter and sugar in the crust by 1/4 c each with no problems but its tasty just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I made this recipe today and took it to my friends house. Everyone loved them. They were definitely the best lemon squares I ever made...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Loved them! I followed the recipe exactly as written. I did take them to work and got a couple mixed reviews. Some people thought they could have been more 'lemony', but I thought they were great! I will definitely make these again...they were super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
These lemon squares are to amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I've used this recipe since 2011 and every time i make them i get so many compliments - my niece has even asked me to make them for her graduation party - i've never modified this recipe at all and do not believe it needs any changes thanks so much for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I made these, kind of. I read all the comments and followed commenter Paige's recipe instead. I doubled the filling and had to cook them for twice the amount of time or more until it stopped jiggling and thickened up more. The powdered sugar in the crust was awesome tip! I did not use melted butter. The taste testers all want the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made these today and they were very good with a few exceptions. My oven is typically very accurate but the crust got too brown when baking it for 15 minutes and the filling got too dark baking it for 30. Could be that I should have lowered the temperature since I did not use a glass pan but the same metal one as shown on the video. The only small change was I added the zest from one lemon to the crust mix before baking. One note regarding the video. I sprayed my pan with a cooking spray and then put in parchment and sprayed that as suggested. It made it almost impossible to get the bars out and I have never had this trouble before. I lost half the bars. Won't do that again. The flavor of the bars and crust was very good. I used Meyer lemons and they always add flavor. Any tips on storing them so they don't get soggy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States