Lemon Sponge Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Delicious! I used a whole-wheat frozen pie crust from Whole Foods and poured the filling right into the frozen shell before sticking in the oven. Light, tangy, sweet, EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is one of the best pies I have ever made or even eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamacook
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I used Meyer Lemons as I have a tree in the back yard. It was very good. I am not a great pastry crust maker, but used the Basic Flakey Crust recipe and it turned out pretty good. Next time I will use regular lemons as I think it will make it more lemony. My family loved this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This is the way to go if you like lemon pie but don't like meringue. I followed the recipe exactly and had about 1 cup left over after filling my 9 inch crust. I baked the extra in a custard cup for about 30 minutes. I was a little concerned about the slightly curdled texture when tasting the extra, but I must have overbaked it as the actual pie was creamy and delicious! I will be making this for years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made this recipe for a fundraiser dinner were we serve pies for desert. I made a blueberry topping for it. I have to say that it came out much better than I thought. Smooth & creamy lots of lemon flavor,I will certainly make this again. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Hero, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very moist and very easy to make. Use nonfat milk to cut calories. You can also use custard cups if you don't have a pie shell available. Top with whipped cream. Nice pie to bring to your new neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious, light and fluffy. Much better use of the egg whites than the usual meringue topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I baked this pie yesterday. My family did not care for it at all. I baked it just like the instructions said. I did not change a thing. We thought it was too sweet and not enough lemon flavor. I will stick to my lemon meringue recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was delicious, and I even messed up a few times. First of all, I didn't have lemon zest, so I just used not quite a tablespoon of lemon extract instead, which worked fine. But I'm not sure I creamed the butter and sugar together correctly, and I definitely messed up the egg whites, which started to collapse on me a bit, so I just dumped them into the mixture anyway and hoped for the best. And it turned out great. I do think, however, that some people might want to pre-bake the crust to make it less soggy; I baked mine for about 7 minutes and next time I'll probably let it bake a few minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
very good! i'm 13 and i made this. it took me a looooooooong time but that's becus i go a littl youlk in my egg whites thee first time and after beating them for 30 minutes looked up what was wrong and found out that even a tiny bit of egg yolk can ruin it. i started over and then it took me only like 5 minutes to get peaks. great recepe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States