Lemon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I wanted something light, zesty, and brothy to go with chicken salad and cucumber salad sandwiches. This was just the ticket! It is so easy!! I used chicken bullion to make the broth and did not add any salt. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelsjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I'm a vegetarian, so used vegetable broth instead of chicken stock. The flavor is great, and the consistency gets even better/thicker for leftovers the next day. I think next time I may try adding some cut up asparagus or a little spinach to round it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAGGIE986
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I love this lemon soup recipe. I've made it a few times, and never had Orzo pasta on hand. Instead, I substituted rice. (I've used brown rice and jasmine rice -- both are good.) If you're substituting rice, I recommend cooking it first since it takes a while. Then, heat your broth, add the rice, and then add the lemon/egg mixture. Other substitutions: I've used veggie broth and "no chicken" broth to make this a vegetarian recipe. I also really like lemon, so I add the juice of 2 lemons instead of one. This is a relatively uncommon soup, but if you like lemon, I highly recommend trying it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
i will have to admit, i wasn't sure about this recipe, but i was so curious to try it out. well, i was a bit suprised....i absolutely love it! i will definitely make this again and will be in my regular rotation! the lemon was not too strong and just perfect to make it feel like a nice refreshing light soup...not to mention this soup was incredibly easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Delicious and simple, but I would definitely say serve immediately because it boils down otherwise. And make sure the egg whites are really true stiff peaks; it adds the texture to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was so simple and delicious. I would like to have had a thicker consistancy, but the ease of making it made up for it. My husband really love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I used tomato and chicken bouillon cubes and water for the broth and it gave the soup a pleasant pumpkin color and rich flavor. This is a great inexpensive soup you can make with items most people have in their kitchen at all times. I was running out of groceries and was able to prepare this easy recipe with warm baked bread for a wonderful family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Foust

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is so good! I've never made anything like this before, so I was a little nervous about it, but it turned out to be really easy and so tasty! It seems too rich and flavorful to be made so simply! Don't be scared of this one, it's a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Newport Center, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Love this recipe! Its a family favorite that Ive made for years. Just a tip, to add some more flavor I garnish with fresh chopped parsley and love the little burst of flavor it gives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Couldn't get enough of this! I LOVE lemon... and this recipe made me a huge fan! I thoroughly enjoyed it.. and it was SO simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States