Lemon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I wanted something light, zesty, and brothy to go with chicken salad and cucumber salad sandwiches. This was just the ticket! It is so easy!! I used chicken bullion to make the broth and did not add any salt. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelsjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
I had a craving for this soup, which I have had at a Greek friend's home on Christmas. I was slightly disappointed, only in that it was not frothy and thick as I expected. However, the taste was light and surprisingly addictive. This is a healthy soup (I used sodium-free broth) and very filling. Thank you, Phambabe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I'm a vegetarian, so used vegetable broth instead of chicken stock. The flavor is great, and the consistency gets even better/thicker for leftovers the next day. I think next time I may try adding some cut up asparagus or a little spinach to round it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This was 'frothier' than I was expecting, and quite tart. I would make it again, but whip the egg whites less, and use less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I like this soup because it uses so few ingredients, takes very little time and tastes good. HOWEVER, I don't know if it is because I halfed the recipe or my soup got too hot (?) but the egg mixture broke and it didn't really thicken the soup at all. Also, I opted not to beat the white and yolk seperate, I frothed them together very well as I have seen in other recipes for this soup. Either way it was a great quickie soup! I added parsley for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Never thought I would like a lemon soup, but it ws very refreshing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAGGIE986
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I love this lemon soup recipe. I've made it a few times, and never had Orzo pasta on hand. Instead, I substituted rice. (I've used brown rice and jasmine rice -- both are good.) If you're substituting rice, I recommend cooking it first since it takes a while. Then, heat your broth, add the rice, and then add the lemon/egg mixture. Other substitutions: I've used veggie broth and "no chicken" broth to make this a vegetarian recipe. I also really like lemon, so I add the juice of 2 lemons instead of one. This is a relatively uncommon soup, but if you like lemon, I highly recommend trying it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
i will have to admit, i wasn't sure about this recipe, but i was so curious to try it out. well, i was a bit suprised....i absolutely love it! i will definitely make this again and will be in my regular rotation! the lemon was not too strong and just perfect to make it feel like a nice refreshing light soup...not to mention this soup was incredibly easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Delicious and simple, but I would definitely say serve immediately because it boils down otherwise. And make sure the egg whites are really true stiff peaks; it adds the texture to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was so simple and delicious. I would like to have had a thicker consistancy, but the ease of making it made up for it. My husband really love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States