Lemon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I wanted something light, zesty, and brothy to go with chicken salad and cucumber salad sandwiches. This was just the ticket! It is so easy!! I used chicken bullion to make the broth and did not add any salt. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelsjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
I had a craving for this soup, which I have had at a Greek friend's home on Christmas. I was slightly disappointed, only in that it was not frothy and thick as I expected. However, the taste was light and surprisingly addictive. This is a healthy soup (I used sodium-free broth) and very filling. Thank you, Phambabe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I'm a vegetarian, so used vegetable broth instead of chicken stock. The flavor is great, and the consistency gets even better/thicker for leftovers the next day. I think next time I may try adding some cut up asparagus or a little spinach to round it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This was 'frothier' than I was expecting, and quite tart. I would make it again, but whip the egg whites less, and use less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I like this soup because it uses so few ingredients, takes very little time and tastes good. HOWEVER, I don't know if it is because I halfed the recipe or my soup got too hot (?) but the egg mixture broke and it didn't really thicken the soup at all. Also, I opted not to beat the white and yolk seperate, I frothed them together very well as I have seen in other recipes for this soup. Either way it was a great quickie soup! I added parsley for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Never thought I would like a lemon soup, but it ws very refreshing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAGGIE986
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I love this lemon soup recipe. I've made it a few times, and never had Orzo pasta on hand. Instead, I substituted rice. (I've used brown rice and jasmine rice -- both are good.) If you're substituting rice, I recommend cooking it first since it takes a while. Then, heat your broth, add the rice, and then add the lemon/egg mixture. Other substitutions: I've used veggie broth and "no chicken" broth to make this a vegetarian recipe. I also really like lemon, so I add the juice of 2 lemons instead of one. This is a relatively uncommon soup, but if you like lemon, I highly recommend trying it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
i will have to admit, i wasn't sure about this recipe, but i was so curious to try it out. well, i was a bit suprised....i absolutely love it! i will definitely make this again and will be in my regular rotation! the lemon was not too strong and just perfect to make it feel like a nice refreshing light soup...not to mention this soup was incredibly easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Delicious and simple, but I would definitely say serve immediately because it boils down otherwise. And make sure the egg whites are really true stiff peaks; it adds the texture to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was so simple and delicious. I would like to have had a thicker consistancy, but the ease of making it made up for it. My husband really love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States