Lemon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Super easy & delicious. I usually end up adding more lemon & lots and lots of black pepper. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Not what I was expecting. The chicken broth was competing with the lemon flavor. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
My husband's grandmother used to make this for us and it is one of my favorites. I think the only thing I would do differently is make my own chicken stock (the store bought one was a little salty for me) and perhaps add a touch more lemon juice. I was pleasantly surprised at how good it did turn out though!! Perfect for the cool evenings of fall that have begun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Made this with rice instead of orzo. I added baked halibut and roasted asparagus I had leftover from the night before. SO GOOD, and so much healthier than a cream-based lemon soup I've used in the past...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I made this soup for the first time a few nights ago, and was blown away by how delicious it was. Creamy, full flavored, and light enough to eat as an appetizer, this soup was amazing. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, and added a cup of white wine to add some extra flavor. I can't wait to feed my friends and family with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I have made this multiple times but I don't think it really qualifies as 'soup', especially when I ate the leftovers which had dried out enough to just be a delicious pasta. I've never had the energy to properly whip the whites but I do what I can by hand and have never had a problem with any frothiness. I highly suggest adding rosemary, it complements the soup perfectly. I also added one carrot, shredded which doesn't change the flavor much but gives the soup a wonderful, warm color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
From the first time me and the girlfriend made this soup we have been hooked. We make it a little more decadent by adding some fresh crumbled bacon right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I have been buying a soup exactly like this and was unable to fully replicate it - but whisking the egg whites first then adding the yolk and lemon did the trick! I absolutely love this soup, it sounds unusual but it is deliciously addicting and yet sosimple. I also added a little fresh parsley. I make a batch and keep it in the fridge for the week - I would not recommend freezing it as the egg seperates when you defrost and/or re-heat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Very good quick alternative to avgolemono soup (greek lemon soup) which normally takes much longer than this. This was quick, easy and tasty. Next time I will probably add bits of carrots or maybe pieces of chicken but this was a great quick fix for me tonight since tomorrow is food shopping day and the pantry is a bit empty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. I had to run off copies of the recipes for my guests before they left! Only changes I made: I beat 3 large eggs (not separated)and added lemon juice to that; and used 1 pkg. of Success boil in a bag white rice opened and dumped to cook right in the broth. This is so easy and tasty. I'll defiitely be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States