Lemon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MAGGIE986
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I love this lemon soup recipe. I've made it a few times, and never had Orzo pasta on hand. Instead, I substituted rice. (I've used brown rice and jasmine rice -- both are good.) If you're substituting rice, I recommend cooking it first since it takes a while. Then, heat your broth, add the rice, and then add the lemon/egg mixture. Other substitutions: I've used veggie broth and "no chicken" broth to make this a vegetarian recipe. I also really like lemon, so I add the juice of 2 lemons instead of one. This is a relatively uncommon soup, but if you like lemon, I highly recommend trying it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Great flavor!! I was in a pinch since my hubby was on his way home and NOTHING was even remotely close to being ready for dinner. I looked up this recipe and was very pleased with the results minus the foamy texture. I substituted lemon juice for the fresh lemon and it was still great. I took it off of the stove about 2 minutes after the egg/lemon mixture was added. Rather than serving it immediately as the directions state I let it sit for about 10 minutes and stirred it a couple of times. That decreased the foamy texture so that the rich flavor came through without all of the "fluff". I also added soy chicken strips which I cooked first then added into the soup. My husband LOVED it and is taking the leftovers to work for lunch. I will definitely make this again, even if I'm not in a rush!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gpearl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This was 'frothier' than I was expecting, and quite tart. I would make it again, but whip the egg whites less, and use less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Love this recipe! Its a family favorite that Ive made for years. Just a tip, to add some more flavor I garnish with fresh chopped parsley and love the little burst of flavor it gives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I have made this multiple times but I don't think it really qualifies as 'soup', especially when I ate the leftovers which had dried out enough to just be a delicious pasta. I've never had the energy to properly whip the whites but I do what I can by hand and have never had a problem with any frothiness. I highly suggest adding rosemary, it complements the soup perfectly. I also added one carrot, shredded which doesn't change the flavor much but gives the soup a wonderful, warm color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Good recipe. I didn't whip the eggs at all, or separate the whites. It worked fine! I recommend letting the soup sit for a bit before serving so that the orzo can fully puff up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I really want to give this 5 stars for the taste. I gave it 4 because my entire family was put off by the frothy texture. I put that aside and ate 3 bowls. The second day the froth was for the most gone, and it had thinkened considerably and I really loved it that way. Perhaps then I could get my family to eat it that way. Thanks for a great flavored soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I gave this 5 stars because it's a great start. I made this and when I tested it, I liked it but I thought I could add to it. I started with adding cooked rice as some other reviewers did. I then added a few Tbs of butter,another lemon, cooked shredded chicken, and fresh spinach that I just tore apart and cooked into the soup. If you don't like the froth then just let the soup sit on low for a while and a lot of the froth will go away, I liked it both ways. This soup can be as simple or as complicated as you wish. This will be a great addition to my recipe box! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
i will have to admit, i wasn't sure about this recipe, but i was so curious to try it out. well, i was a bit suprised....i absolutely love it! i will definitely make this again and will be in my regular rotation! the lemon was not too strong and just perfect to make it feel like a nice refreshing light soup...not to mention this soup was incredibly easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Delicious and simple, but I would definitely say serve immediately because it boils down otherwise. And make sure the egg whites are really true stiff peaks; it adds the texture to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States