Lemon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. I had to run off copies of the recipes for my guests before they left! Only changes I made: I beat 3 large eggs (not separated)and added lemon juice to that; and used 1 pkg. of Success boil in a bag white rice opened and dumped to cook right in the broth. This is so easy and tasty. I'll defiitely be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Good recipe. I didn't whip the eggs at all, or separate the whites. It worked fine! I recommend letting the soup sit for a bit before serving so that the orzo can fully puff up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Great flavor!! I was in a pinch since my hubby was on his way home and NOTHING was even remotely close to being ready for dinner. I looked up this recipe and was very pleased with the results minus the foamy texture. I substituted lemon juice for the fresh lemon and it was still great. I took it off of the stove about 2 minutes after the egg/lemon mixture was added. Rather than serving it immediately as the directions state I let it sit for about 10 minutes and stirred it a couple of times. That decreased the foamy texture so that the rich flavor came through without all of the "fluff". I also added soy chicken strips which I cooked first then added into the soup. My husband LOVED it and is taking the leftovers to work for lunch. I will definitely make this again, even if I'm not in a rush!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gpearl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Couldn't get enough of this! I LOVE lemon... and this recipe made me a huge fan! I thoroughly enjoyed it.. and it was SO simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Love this recipe! Its a family favorite that Ive made for years. Just a tip, to add some more flavor I garnish with fresh chopped parsley and love the little burst of flavor it gives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
didn't make me a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is so good! I've never made anything like this before, so I was a little nervous about it, but it turned out to be really easy and so tasty! It seems too rich and flavorful to be made so simply! Don't be scared of this one, it's a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Newport Center, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I really want to give this 5 stars for the taste. I gave it 4 because my entire family was put off by the frothy texture. I put that aside and ate 3 bowls. The second day the froth was for the most gone, and it had thinkened considerably and I really loved it that way. Perhaps then I could get my family to eat it that way. Thanks for a great flavored soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I used tomato and chicken bouillon cubes and water for the broth and it gave the soup a pleasant pumpkin color and rich flavor. This is a great inexpensive soup you can make with items most people have in their kitchen at all times. I was running out of groceries and was able to prepare this easy recipe with warm baked bread for a wonderful family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Foust

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Delicious! I added a chopped chicken breast. Next time, I will use more chicken broth, but the taste was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States