Lemon Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Taste was great, the consistency wasnt as I had hoped, it was my fault though because I dont have an ice cream maker and you have to make sure you stir every hour. It makes for a great shaved ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aladyinredpolish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
The lemon flavor here is delicious. It is very sweet and I added more of the carbonated lemon water (so good) and it was still sweet enough for me + I had more. My sorbet didn't look opaque like the picture, but was more icy. Still, it was like much-better-than-usual frozen lemonade. My 2 boys loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
As a general rule I'm not a fan of lemon-flavored stuff. I made this for my boyfriend, who loves lemon sorbet. Even I liked it! I didn't find it bitter at all, it was just the right mix of sweet and tart. We didn't freeze it quite long enough before serving so it was kind of more like a lemon slushee, but it still tasted great. Next time I think I'll serve with raspberries to add a bit of color and a complementary flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I would suggest doubling the recipe if you are using an ice cream maker. Very flavorful. I zested the lemon instead of dicing the rind. Rinds don't taste good and I think it gave it a better texture. Eat relatively quick because it will freeze hard if in the freezer overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I used limes instead of lemons mainly because we didn't have any lemons on hand, it still worked out fine. Just if you double it or anything, make sure you don't freeze all of it at the same time, because it takes a looooong time to freeze when there is more of it. I just put it in two containers. It was also kind of bitter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Livvia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
An awesome light summer dessert,I added a little less sugar and used club soda, which I increased by 1/4 c, served it with a simple rasberry sauce using 2 c fresh rasberries, 1/4 c sugar, 1/4 c water and 1 tablespoon of chambord, garnished with fresh mint leaves,very pretty presentation..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Adictive! I made the recipe as written, adding only a couple tablespoons of good vodka (as I most always do to ummm...keep it from getting to frozen. Yeah, that's why!). My guests raved about it. The only (and I mean *only* criticism I got was that one person thought it might be even better if I left out the diced zest. I disagree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
too sweet and watery, but has great lemon flavor. We were looking for something that tastes like a frozen lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This was pretty good. It was very light and refreshing but not a WOW. I did not read the directions and brought it to school to make without first cooking the syrup. The sugar sat in lemon juice over night and it was fine. I also forgot to look to see how many this served and was disappointed because it made very little. I would say it served 4. Everyone only got a couple of spoonfuls to try it. It is kind of like a frozen lemon shake up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
With our ice cream maker, the sorbet was ready to eat after 15 minutes of freezing. It was delicious! We used Perrier instead of mineral water. For the lemon peel and juice, we used only the zest and the juice of two lemons. So yummy! Next time we're going to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States