Lemon Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
excellent. I can't wait to have this on a hot summer day. It was very refreshing and tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
It was very sour at first but the more I ate it, the more I enjoyed it. This recipe served 6 people, but can make up to 8 small servings because it is very tangy. I grated the lemon peel with the smallest holes on my grater. I poured the mixture into a glass bowl with a lid and froze it, mixing it every hour. Took about 5-6 hours for it to form into a sorbet consistency. I served it with a sweet raspberry reduction (simmer fresh raspberries with sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
My husband made this yesterday. He used fresh lemon zest instead of dicing the peel and put it in the freezer since we don't have an ice cream maker. We loved the balance of sweet/tart, but it never did set correctly. It reminded me of a lemon ice you would get at a baseball game and was a nice finish to a heavy, italian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was pretty disappointing. The only change I made was in cooling the sorbet in a martini shaker in the freezer, but the consistency was not effected. My problem with this recipe is that it is somehow both way too sweet and way too bitter--I would cut down on the sugar and simply zest the lemon instead of dicing the peel. I used grapefruit-flavored mineral water, which added a nice little kick, but the peel and the sugar were overwhelming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I followed other reviewers and grated the peel instead of chopping it up. One thing I noticed is that when I used my ice cream maker to make this it took almost no time for it to start freezing up so I just want to warn you to keep an eye on it more closely. Next time I'm making this I'm going to add (as others have suggested) a little bit of alcohol because that keeps it from becoming too icy and hard. Some parts of the sorbet were almost rock solid, but still tasty nevertheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Loved this!!! There is sooo much flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mtcrloss87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I absolutely love this sorbet! I used lemon zest instead of peel and tonic instead of mineral water, and the taste is wonderful. I don't have an ice-cream maker and I did not bother with making it fluffy, mixed it a couple of times in the process of freezing, so it looks more like a huge ice cube, but the flavour! oh the flavour! :-) Thanks, Flashdance16, this will keep me through the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zlín, Zlínský Kra, Czech Republic
Living In: Brno, Jihomoravský Kraj, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is the best lemon sorbet recipe i have come across, ever! The flavore is very lemony with a great balance of tartness and not-too-sweet. The carbonated water gives it a perfect consistency, not too icy, and very light. I think i might try it next time with some mint leaves minced up in it too. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Light, sweet, tart, and very refreshing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Very easy and good - I doubled the recipe, used lemon zest and 3/4 cup of lemon juice and 1/4 limeade. I also added 1 T vodka to the stovetop part to try to make it not so solid ice, and it seemed to make a difference. Will make it again when I have extra lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States