Lemon Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was pretty disappointing. The only change I made was in cooling the sorbet in a martini shaker in the freezer, but the consistency was not effected. My problem with this recipe is that it is somehow both way too sweet and way too bitter--I would cut down on the sugar and simply zest the lemon instead of dicing the peel. I used grapefruit-flavored mineral water, which added a nice little kick, but the peel and the sugar were overwhelming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I followed other reviewers and grated the peel instead of chopping it up. One thing I noticed is that when I used my ice cream maker to make this it took almost no time for it to start freezing up so I just want to warn you to keep an eye on it more closely. Next time I'm making this I'm going to add (as others have suggested) a little bit of alcohol because that keeps it from becoming too icy and hard. Some parts of the sorbet were almost rock solid, but still tasty nevertheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Loved this!!! There is sooo much flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mtcrloss87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I absolutely love this sorbet! I used lemon zest instead of peel and tonic instead of mineral water, and the taste is wonderful. I don't have an ice-cream maker and I did not bother with making it fluffy, mixed it a couple of times in the process of freezing, so it looks more like a huge ice cube, but the flavour! oh the flavour! :-) Thanks, Flashdance16, this will keep me through the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zlín, Zlínský Kra, Czech Republic
Living In: Brno, Jihomoravský Kraj, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is the best lemon sorbet recipe i have come across, ever! The flavore is very lemony with a great balance of tartness and not-too-sweet. The carbonated water gives it a perfect consistency, not too icy, and very light. I think i might try it next time with some mint leaves minced up in it too. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Light, sweet, tart, and very refreshing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Very easy and good - I doubled the recipe, used lemon zest and 3/4 cup of lemon juice and 1/4 limeade. I also added 1 T vodka to the stovetop part to try to make it not so solid ice, and it seemed to make a difference. Will make it again when I have extra lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This sorbet was surprisingly good after a few adjustments. Instead of tonic water or club soda I used canned lemonade. Instead of only fresh lemon juice I added orange juice too, to make less bitter. I also took out some of the diced lemon peel because it was all on the bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I don't have an ice-cream maker and once you get passed the regular mixing-up while freezing, it turns out great. Mine had a more "crumbly" texture than other sorbets probably because of the freezing method I was using, but the flavour was good. Next time I would try a little more lemon zest for a bit more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
VERY BITTER! I strained the chopped peel and the sorbet was still bitter! It was bitter not sour like lemons are suppose to be. I suggest to anyone making this to only zest the peel, do not chop it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States