Lemon Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and we thought it was delicious. It tasted just like those frozen lemonades you can buy at ballparks. My only complaint was that I don't see how it makes 6 servings- they must be tiny servings! Next time I will double or triple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is horrible for anyone that likes sweet. I did this and aside from it coming out like shaved ice because i didn't have an ice cream maker it also came out extremely bitter and tart, I couldn't handle it and think i will throw it all out i wasted a lot of lemons on this. If you love lemonade that doesn't have sugar then i guess you'll love this, but to me it's very gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very good! Bf told me it was a bit sour but when I asked if it was a bad thing he told me it was fine. I didn't use diced lemon peel--I used my microplane grater and grated the heck out of the lemon. :o) I do have an ice cream maker and while it didn't appear the same as normal ice cream, it kind of got slushy, then it froze well enough, although I had a hard time scooping it. Perhaps I just need it taken out for several minutes before scooping; I'll try again. Regardless, it has wonderful flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Fantastically delicious, natural and refreshing. I used finely grated lemon zest instead of the diced peel, being careful not to include any of the white pith. I've made this recipe a few times and would caution against reducing the amount of sugar. Even reducing it a little bit causes the sorbet to freeze too hard, causing your guests to have to "chip away" at their dessert. :-( Also, I would say this makes 6 small 'palate-cleansing' servings but only 4 decent sized dessert servings. I use a Cuisinart ice-cream maker and the results have been great. I LOVE this sorbet -- will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Tangy and refreshing! I zested the lemon as others suggested, but otherwise followed the recipe. The only change I would make in the future is to double the recipe. I put the mixture in my 1 1/2 quart ice cream maker and would need more of the sorbet mixture for a good churning motion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Doubled the recipe and chilled it in a Cusinart ice cream maker with outstanding results. The sorbet was tart and refreshing. The perfect end to a rather rich meal. Instead of dicing the lemon peel, I used a citrus zester. The zest of 5 lemons seems to be about right for a doubled recipe. I suspect those complaining about bitterness simply peeled a lemon and added it all, including the bitter white pith to the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Amazing!!! Yum, so fresh and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Using the diced peel of one lemon is too much...think about 1/4 would work fine. This sorbet was OK, but not spectacular. I don't know if it was the carbonated mineral water or substituting Splenda for the sugar, but the texture of this turned out strange, kind of like picking up a handful of very light snow, not at all compact. I doubt that I'll make this again, but if I did, I think I'd increase the sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was simple and tasty. I would recommend straining the lemon peel out before you freeze it, unless you like something to chew on when you are eating the ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Delicious and easy. I grated the lemon zest, and since I didn't have any soda water, I substituted 1/4 cup beer and 1/4 cup water, and the taste was outstanding. The little bit of alcohol gave it a real kick. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States