Lemon Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and we thought it was delicious. It tasted just like those frozen lemonades you can buy at ballparks. My only complaint was that I don't see how it makes 6 servings- they must be tiny servings! Next time I will double or triple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is horrible for anyone that likes sweet. I did this and aside from it coming out like shaved ice because i didn't have an ice cream maker it also came out extremely bitter and tart, I couldn't handle it and think i will throw it all out i wasted a lot of lemons on this. If you love lemonade that doesn't have sugar then i guess you'll love this, but to me it's very gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very good! Bf told me it was a bit sour but when I asked if it was a bad thing he told me it was fine. I didn't use diced lemon peel--I used my microplane grater and grated the heck out of the lemon. :o) I do have an ice cream maker and while it didn't appear the same as normal ice cream, it kind of got slushy, then it froze well enough, although I had a hard time scooping it. Perhaps I just need it taken out for several minutes before scooping; I'll try again. Regardless, it has wonderful flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Fantastically delicious, natural and refreshing. I used finely grated lemon zest instead of the diced peel, being careful not to include any of the white pith. I've made this recipe a few times and would caution against reducing the amount of sugar. Even reducing it a little bit causes the sorbet to freeze too hard, causing your guests to have to "chip away" at their dessert. :-( Also, I would say this makes 6 small 'palate-cleansing' servings but only 4 decent sized dessert servings. I use a Cuisinart ice-cream maker and the results have been great. I LOVE this sorbet -- will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Tangy and refreshing! I zested the lemon as others suggested, but otherwise followed the recipe. The only change I would make in the future is to double the recipe. I put the mixture in my 1 1/2 quart ice cream maker and would need more of the sorbet mixture for a good churning motion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Doubled the recipe and chilled it in a Cusinart ice cream maker with outstanding results. The sorbet was tart and refreshing. The perfect end to a rather rich meal. Instead of dicing the lemon peel, I used a citrus zester. The zest of 5 lemons seems to be about right for a doubled recipe. I suspect those complaining about bitterness simply peeled a lemon and added it all, including the bitter white pith to the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Amazing!!! Yum, so fresh and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Using the diced peel of one lemon is too much...think about 1/4 would work fine. This sorbet was OK, but not spectacular. I don't know if it was the carbonated mineral water or substituting Splenda for the sugar, but the texture of this turned out strange, kind of like picking up a handful of very light snow, not at all compact. I doubt that I'll make this again, but if I did, I think I'd increase the sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was simple and tasty. I would recommend straining the lemon peel out before you freeze it, unless you like something to chew on when you are eating the ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Delicious and easy. I grated the lemon zest, and since I didn't have any soda water, I substituted 1/4 cup beer and 1/4 cup water, and the taste was outstanding. The little bit of alcohol gave it a real kick. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States