Lemon Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Tangy and refreshing! I zested the lemon as others suggested, but otherwise followed the recipe. The only change I would make in the future is to double the recipe. I put the mixture in my 1 1/2 quart ice cream maker and would need more of the sorbet mixture for a good churning motion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Doubled the recipe and chilled it in a Cusinart ice cream maker with outstanding results. The sorbet was tart and refreshing. The perfect end to a rather rich meal. Instead of dicing the lemon peel, I used a citrus zester. The zest of 5 lemons seems to be about right for a doubled recipe. I suspect those complaining about bitterness simply peeled a lemon and added it all, including the bitter white pith to the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Amazing!!! Yum, so fresh and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Using the diced peel of one lemon is too much...think about 1/4 would work fine. This sorbet was OK, but not spectacular. I don't know if it was the carbonated mineral water or substituting Splenda for the sugar, but the texture of this turned out strange, kind of like picking up a handful of very light snow, not at all compact. I doubt that I'll make this again, but if I did, I think I'd increase the sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was simple and tasty. I would recommend straining the lemon peel out before you freeze it, unless you like something to chew on when you are eating the ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Delicious and easy. I grated the lemon zest, and since I didn't have any soda water, I substituted 1/4 cup beer and 1/4 cup water, and the taste was outstanding. The little bit of alcohol gave it a real kick. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Thank you for posting an alternative way to freeze sorbet ~ didn't have an ice cream maker & it turned out swell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I LOOOOVED this!! I tried italian gelato ice cream and sorbet and decided to try to make it myself. This is a great recipe and definately impressed my date!=)The carbonated water made all the difference =) I served mine with strawberry frozen yoghurt and fresh strawberries and cherries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
MMMMMM! I made this for my family while we were on vacation in Florida, and we all LOVED it! Even my "picky eater" teenage son gobbled it up! Super easy, super tasty, and super guilt-free refreshing dessert. Thanks so much for posting this recipe! Not sure why the cook time says "1 day, 1 hour" - I made this in the afternoon, put it in the freezer, took it out and whipped it about once per hour, and served it about 7 p.m.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
excellent. I can't wait to have this on a hot summer day. It was very refreshing and tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States