Lemon Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The flavor of this reminds me of a sweet tart. Pretty sweet and tart at the same time, but in a good way. I actually made this lemon lime flavored using half of each, and used Waist Watchers diet citrus soda. I only zested the lemon and lime, I didn't use the peel. I think that would have been way too bitter. I like it, and would make it again but will play with the flavors including the sugar (maybe add a little less) and soda flavors. I added about 1.5 tbsp vodka and it makes a huge difference in the texture. Made it yesterday and it's still a sorbet texture today. For those worried about kids eating it, vodka is about the same alcohol content (proof) as vanilla extract, so if you use vanilla extract in your food, the vodka shouldn't worry you too much. You really can't taste it either. In any case this was a nice, light little end to a heavy dinner. Glad I made it. Thanks Flashdance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This is a very nice, lemony recipe. It's great for a hot day but it is not sweet. If you're looking for something like frozen lemonade, you'll need more sugar. Otherwise, it's very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This was so yummy! It tasted just like a good frozen lemonade. As other reviewers suggested, I used the lime flavored water. Next time I will probably add some raspberries too! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I also strained out the lemon peel like one user suggested. I would recommend doubling the recipe as well. I used frozen juice from Meyer lemons I had juiced about a month prior. It was fabulous! I would never have thought to use the mineral water but I think it helped. I served it with fresh berries and it was a hit at my dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Just made it today and it is AWESOME. I made it with Splenda instead of sugar, used zest and used lime-flavored carbonated water. It was quite tart, so I may increase the Splenda next time. However, I had it with a cracker with apple slices on it and it was a really good combination because the apples added some additional sweetness. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
We all really enjoyed the refreshing flavor, and it was a wonderfully light dessert after grilled steak dinner. The consistency is like a shaved ice, and I made it in my ice cream maker. I used carbonated lime flavored water instead of mineral water, and I'm wondering if that had any impact on the texture. Planned to reduce the sugar as the lime water was sweetened, but I forgot to and it tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Great basic recipe, but needed a few adjustments. I used lime instead of lemon because I had them on hand, and tried the suggestion of another reviewer of adding whipped egg whites prior to freezing. This made the result nice and airy. I did not use the whole peel, zest only to keep sorbet from getting bitter. Good proportions, nice balance of sweet and sour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
delicious, nice sharp and refreshing and so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I'd give this 3.5 stars if I could. I wanted to make a healthier dessert and had some lemons to use up so figured this looked like a good recipe. I think I would have liked it more if I had an ice cream maker, but without it, it is really more of a shaved ice consistency (I whisked every hour as advised). I also didn't care for the lemon peel in it and found it to be really sweet. My husband took one bite and asked if he had to eat it. Thanks anyways for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Was a little hard... leave ice cream maker on for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Pawliw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States