Lemon Seafood Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Fantastic recipe. Made it with slightly different cooking way. I marinated shrimps & scallops with salt, white wine and leek before hand so they will not smell fishy when cooking and also they will taste more fresh as I made them with frozen ones. I also sautéed them separately before adding to almost done risotto. The rest are made just like stated. They tasted delicious! Thanks for this easy risotto recipe. It made my first attempt to make risotto a big success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The instructions in this recipe are different from the normal way of making risotto, but I was game. I used 1lb of shrimp (no scallops) and vegetable stock instead of chicken, but otherwise followed the recipe. Finished product was not as creamy as normal risotto, due to the instructions (adding broth all at the same time, not constantly stirring) and quite sharp in flavor, due to the wine being added toward the end and the lemon juice added right at the end. While I did not consider this a complete waste of time or shrimp, I will stick with my other recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I made several substitutions with items on hand and it still came out great. Onion instead of leek, plain brown rice (it took a lot longer to cook), scallops only, mint instead of basil, no lemon juice. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I'm having a tough time rating this one - I made this a while back and thought it could be a good recipe if you definitely change the cooking time, then adjust seasonings/flavors to taste. First of all, Arborio rice needs time to turn into risotto, and these instructions just did not work for me as stated. Plus, I think it needed more flavor, but taste is subjective so I can't say that others would agree with me. So, as written, 3 or 3 1/2 stars. A couple minor changes and you'll have a winner - first, more herbs, and fresh is better, and secondly, at least 1/2 cup or fresh grated parmesan. Finally a splash of heavy cream at the end - maybe 1/2 cup - and let that cook down. I made this for New Year's Eve with several changes to ingredients, and most importantly, to the cooking time, and ended up with a solid 4 1/2 star recipe, that I would probably make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Did not like this at all. Was really excited to make it. Followed the directions to the T and came our boring and not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Great recipe. Made some alterations though:1- added 1/2 pound calamari as well, really adds to the texture of the meal. 2- omitted the wine and just added extra broth. 3- let the seafood marinate in the lemon juice with some salt and pepper instead of adding lemon the end; this prevents it from being too sour and flavours the seafood very well. 4- used fresh basil. Yummmo!! Made it a couple times to rave reviews...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was really good! I didn't follow the directions exactly with respect to the risotto technique, but instead followed the method I always use: after cooking the rice for a minute or two in the oil, add about 1/2 cup of wine. When that has been absorbed, add the chicken stock about 1/2 cup at a time, stirring frequently and adding the next 1/2 cup after the previous one has been mostly absorbed. (Note: The stirring is important because it releases the starches in the rice, which is what makes risotto so creamy without using any actual cream.) When the rice seemed like it was about 5 minutes away from being done, I added the peppers, scallops, etc. The name of this dish is a bit of a misnomer. The lemon added at the end makes a huge difference in brightening up the dish and I really loved it, but it does not taste lemony. Just a warning in case you are craving something with a real lemon zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dulce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Wow, Kelcampbell was tough! I thought it came out pretty well. I used left over broth from a clambake, flavored with corn, sauage & potatoes (well-strained using cheesecloth), and I didn't have wine, so I used beer. It tasted great. It's certainly not like a traditional risotto, so be flexible. Keep stirring. I added the shrimp last, since it was already pre-cooked (like most shrimp nowadays), But it all worked just fine. My main tip would be to cook it long and slow after you've added the rice & broth. My total cooking time was more like 90 minutes. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I used 1 lb. scallops and asparagus. When I added the scallops, I didn't want them to overcook, so I took the dish off the stove in 5 minutes. The liquid hadn't been absorbed by then, so there was a soupy broth left. The rice wasn't creamy but rather had an al dente taste. It was delicious though, and the scallops were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Love it! Used all scallops (no shrimp). Only because I had scallops left to use. Used peas but next time will definately make with asparagus. Added 1T butter at end. Mmmmm. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann-Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States