Lemon Sauce for Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I made this sauce to serve over flounder. I did modify it just a little, added 1 tsp. fresh lemon zest, a pinch of lemon pepper seasoning, and 1/2 tsp. garlic powder. My family enjoyed this with the flounder. I think it could be used over any type of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma-diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
After making it, I tasted it and it wasn't lemon-y enough for me so I added another Tablespoon and it was perfect! Used it to top the Potato Salmon Patties from this website and a side dish of broccoflower. Excellant on both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I must have done something wrong, but can't figure out what. The sauce was very bland, even though I added more lemon juice, and it was also quite thick, more like a chicken cream gravy...I even added more milk. Will try again with more tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was an excellent sauce for my salmon loaf. The only thing I measured was the milk. I wanted more lemon flavor so added the juice of one lemon. My son thought the lemon was too strong. I liked it like that but next time I may tone it down a bit. I was skepical about the cayenne pepper but I was pleasantly surprised. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
CopperPot, I think you read the recipe incorrectly. It is 4 teaspoons of flour, not 4 tablespoons. Also, any sauce made with flour should be cooked for a min. or two before adding other ingredients to help cook off the floury taste. Hope you'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was gross. It tasted like flour with a hint of lemon. It was too thick, so I added a 1/4 cup more milk - still this didn't help. I should have heeded the 4 Tablespoons of flour as a warning, because I use 6 Tablespoons of flour when I make my cream of brocolli soup. Sorry for the bad rating, but this isn't a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CopperPot

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is a great topping for salmon or tuna patties. I've also used it on my salmon loaf. If I have any fresh dill on hand, I'll add it for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Very good! Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very good! I added dill, like some suggested, and it was really good! I'm anxious to try it on some other foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
A great base for a sauce. I was looking for something to top our crabcakes and this sounded like the crabcake sauce we get at a favorite restaurant. I knew I just needed a couple additions and it was EXACTLY like the sauce we love. I used 1/2 cup 1% milk and 1/4 cup half and half. After bringing to boil, I put a big drop of yellow food color to give it a nice pale yellow tint. I did about 2 1/2 tbsp. of lemon (because that was the juice of a whole lemon). At the end, I stirred in about a handful of finely diced fresh red bell pepper and about a heaping tbsp. of capers. Not only did it taste great, the addition of the peppers, capers and food coloring made it look beautiful. Thanks for sharing! It made our crab cakes PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Salmon Patties I

Try this quick and simple salmon patty recipe, perfect for dinner tonight!

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States