Lemon Sauce for Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
CopperPot, I think you read the recipe incorrectly. It is 4 teaspoons of flour, not 4 tablespoons. Also, any sauce made with flour should be cooked for a min. or two before adding other ingredients to help cook off the floury taste. Hope you'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was gross. It tasted like flour with a hint of lemon. It was too thick, so I added a 1/4 cup more milk - still this didn't help. I should have heeded the 4 Tablespoons of flour as a warning, because I use 6 Tablespoons of flour when I make my cream of brocolli soup. Sorry for the bad rating, but this isn't a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is a great topping for salmon or tuna patties. I've also used it on my salmon loaf. If I have any fresh dill on hand, I'll add it for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Very good! Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very good! I added dill, like some suggested, and it was really good! I'm anxious to try it on some other foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
A great base for a sauce. I was looking for something to top our crabcakes and this sounded like the crabcake sauce we get at a favorite restaurant. I knew I just needed a couple additions and it was EXACTLY like the sauce we love. I used 1/2 cup 1% milk and 1/4 cup half and half. After bringing to boil, I put a big drop of yellow food color to give it a nice pale yellow tint. I did about 2 1/2 tbsp. of lemon (because that was the juice of a whole lemon). At the end, I stirred in about a handful of finely diced fresh red bell pepper and about a heaping tbsp. of capers. Not only did it taste great, the addition of the peppers, capers and food coloring made it look beautiful. Thanks for sharing! It made our crab cakes PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This sauce wasn't very tasty, won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I sauteed some garlic in the butter before adding the flour. I also added some dill weed. This was delicious on salmon cakes. This sauce is quick to make, but have all your ingredients out and ready to go. It thickens quickly once you add the flour and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This sauce was perfect. Next time I'll put yellow food dye like another reviewer stated and a little more lemon juice and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Very good sauce. Both my husband and I loved it. I served it over salmon patties I made using the Oregon salmon patty recipe on this site. I added a little extra lemon juice since I used bottled juice. Needs a little color though. I used 2-3 drops yellow food coloring and it definetely gave it more eye appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States