Lemon Sauce for Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was an excellent sauce for my salmon loaf. The only thing I measured was the milk. I wanted more lemon flavor so added the juice of one lemon. My son thought the lemon was too strong. I liked it like that but next time I may tone it down a bit. I was skepical about the cayenne pepper but I was pleasantly surprised. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
CopperPot, I think you read the recipe incorrectly. It is 4 teaspoons of flour, not 4 tablespoons. Also, any sauce made with flour should be cooked for a min. or two before adding other ingredients to help cook off the floury taste. Hope you'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was gross. It tasted like flour with a hint of lemon. It was too thick, so I added a 1/4 cup more milk - still this didn't help. I should have heeded the 4 Tablespoons of flour as a warning, because I use 6 Tablespoons of flour when I make my cream of brocolli soup. Sorry for the bad rating, but this isn't a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is a great topping for salmon or tuna patties. I've also used it on my salmon loaf. If I have any fresh dill on hand, I'll add it for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Very good! Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very good! I added dill, like some suggested, and it was really good! I'm anxious to try it on some other foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
A great base for a sauce. I was looking for something to top our crabcakes and this sounded like the crabcake sauce we get at a favorite restaurant. I knew I just needed a couple additions and it was EXACTLY like the sauce we love. I used 1/2 cup 1% milk and 1/4 cup half and half. After bringing to boil, I put a big drop of yellow food color to give it a nice pale yellow tint. I did about 2 1/2 tbsp. of lemon (because that was the juice of a whole lemon). At the end, I stirred in about a handful of finely diced fresh red bell pepper and about a heaping tbsp. of capers. Not only did it taste great, the addition of the peppers, capers and food coloring made it look beautiful. Thanks for sharing! It made our crab cakes PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This sauce wasn't very tasty, won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I sauteed some garlic in the butter before adding the flour. I also added some dill weed. This was delicious on salmon cakes. This sauce is quick to make, but have all your ingredients out and ready to go. It thickens quickly once you add the flour and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This sauce was perfect. Next time I'll put yellow food dye like another reviewer stated and a little more lemon juice and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Yummy Lemon Salmon Burgers

See how to make quick-and-easy salmon burgers.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States