Lemon Raspberry White Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Fabulous! The layers actually held up, even the mousse layers (I added a box of white chocolate instant pudding). When I finally arrived at the party the cake was gone and three guest actually bowed down, everybody else was begging for the recipe or telling me how wonderful the cake was! Thanks =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I made this cake yesterday & put it in the freezer. We're having a big, family BBQ in a few days & I wanted something I could make ahead of time. I read other reviews & took the advice to add instant vanilla pudding to the whip cream. I used a 4-serving pkg - make sure it's 'instant' pudding! It firmed up the whip cream SO nicely. I melted the white chocolate with 1/2 cup whip cream - not 1 c. as orginally written & I whipped the remaining 1-1/2 cups with the pudding). I cooled the white choc. completely (over a bowl of ice water & gradually folded the whip cream in. It was a perfect consistency for icing the layers & piping the remaining around the base of the cake & the top. Also, when I made the raspberry filling - I didn't bother pureeing the rasberries first. When you heat the berries, add sugar (2Tbsp) & the cornstarch/water - the berries break down & puree themselves. This saves time. All in all I found this to be an excellent recipe. You can't go wrong with a cake mix, and the white choc. mousse tasted delicious. The raspberry filling was of a jam consistency - I put it between layer 2 and 3 (mousse between 1 & 2 and 3 & 4). The results looked very professional! Can't wait to taste the final product. P.S. I won't add the fresh rasberries that decorate the top of the cake until I take it out of the freezer and the cake has thawed. I encourage you to try this recipe. Make the few changes that have been suggested by others - you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Beware! This recipe does not work as written. Read the reviews and find that almost everyone had to change it to make it work. I wasted a pound of chocolate and 6 cups of heavy cream. the mousse is too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I just made this cake and eventhough it didn't come out as good as the one i had tasted before it was pretty decent. i love knowing how to make my own frosting which i will know do on most of my cakes. next time i will let the white chocolate and the haevy cream sit a little longer to cool down as i found out when i added the whipped cream it was kind of watery but it still stuck after i put the cake in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
WOW!!! SOOOO amazingly good! Just made this cake and my picky daughter just tried it for the first time...she absolutely LOVES it! I will definitely keep this recipe and make it alot. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Housewife in Training

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Maybe I shouldn't rate this because I just used the mousse recipe to make a trifle with a raspberry cake. I used another raspberry sauce recipe from this site that was excellent and easy. The mousse was runny, so since I had bought a quart of heavy cream, I just whipped up the last cup and added that. After refrigeration, it was just the perfect consistency for a trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWERDANNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is the best cake ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautiful Disaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
So, I usually find cake too sweet to have more than three bites, but this one was the perfect mixture of sweet and a little sour (from the raspberries/lemon). I made the lemon cake from scratch instead of from a box. The frosting/mousse (although it took me five tries to figure out what was wrong) was also the perfect amount of sweetness. With the help of my mom, we figured out to melt the white chocolate in the double broiler, then let it cool, whip egg whites on high speed until peaking, then whip about one cup of cream until stiff-like texture, then fold cream and egg whites together, then fold in chocolate. I sprinkled the cake with confectioner's sugar for a final touch. I made it for my boyfriend for our anniversary but I know everyone in his family enjoyed it because it was gone the next day! It was time consuming first time around, but definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber B
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was sooo good!! I did have a little difficulty with the icing, but read another reviewer who added pudding mix to the icing. I did that and it firmed up wonderfully! I was able to pipe the icing out and it made a beautiful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trish Casella
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Excellent Receipe. I did not add pudding mix as others suggested and my mousse frosting came out perfect. Here's a tip: Beat your cream in a VERY COLD metal bowl with ice cold beaters. (I freeze my bowl and beaters ahead of time). I also put the metal bowl inside a larger metal bowl filled with ice cubes, this makes your bowl and cream very cold. Beat it until it gets still peaks. I have to admit that I did not have white chocolate so I used a half of a bag of semi sweet chocolate chips instead. Also, I put the melted chocolate mixture into a large bowl (let it cool a bit) and folded the whipped cream into the chocolate with a wooded spoon, and with the wooded spoon very lightly mixing till it all blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Casella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States