Lemon Raspberry White Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was a really good recipe but I did make a couple of changes. I added two packets of lemon pudding mix to the cake, and to the filling, I did something easier than the recipe. I used a pint of cream, added a box of white chocolate pudding mix and frozen raspberries that I pureed to make small. It was divine! And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I have not made the cake portion of this recipe but I have used the raspberry white chocolate mousse as a filling for a chocolate cake. This is absolutely amazing. I did some substitutions based on other reviewers. I added 1 tsp. orange extract and a Tbls. or 2 of sugar to the raspberry puree to sweeten and I also added a box of vanilla pudding mix to the mousse as a stabilizer. I added the raspberry mixture to the white chocolate mousse and used it for a chocolate cake filling. It was amazing. I received tons of compliments and the cake literally disappeared. I have also substituted a lemon filling with the white chocolate mousse as a lemon cake filling and it is incredible. The lemon filling is from a lemon cake recipe on this site as well. I get requests for the lemom cake with the lemon filling all the time. Thank you so much for this recipe. It has been a great help in my cake making business.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was a nice dessert and not too hard to make. I took other cooks advice and added a box of instant white chocolate pudding to mousse and this worked out well. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I really wish I had read the reviews on this cake before making it. I followed the directions up until combining the cream & chocolate. I (admit it!) messed up and put the cream in before mixing it, and tried to compensate by adding powdered sugar. Needless to say, it ended up as a big, gloppy mess. Now that I've thrown out the entire batch, my naked cake waiting for its frosting, I'm off to Cub Foods to buy some whip cream. I'm just going to use regular pre-whipped cream and the raspberry mix. I'm also going to add a little sugar to the raspberries, as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIETURTLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by juliet835
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This cake was fun to make but messy because the fillings of chocolate mousse and rasberry were not consistent enough. It made it hard to spread the icing on top. I had to ad suger to the rasberry and chocolate mousse, but other than that it was a success! I added a personnal touch for a birthday celebration ( as seen on the picture) and everyone loved it. I also added food coloring to the cake mix to make it fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This was a wonderful, wonderful cake. I made it for co-worker's party, and not only was the whole thing eaten, but every single person there asked for the recipe, and even talked about it days later. A number of the other reviewers mentioned that the mousse/whipped cream concoction was too runny. That was really my only complaint about this recipe; the mousse was difficult to work with, especially when it came to frosting the outside of the cake. However, after some experimentation, I found that instant pudding mix, added (dry) to the whipped cream/white chocolate works exceptionally well. Not only does it stabilize the mousse, but it also adds flavor. I recommend trying either the vanilla pudding mix or the white chocolate. Also, to add an extra boost of flavor to the raspberry, try adding a few drops of orange extract. It enhances the berry flavor quite well. I also recommend adding sugar to taste. I agree that the raspberry puree can be rather tart. However, don't sweeten too much; a hint of tartness offsets the sweetness of the cake and the mousse. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINUNC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Absolutely wonderful flavor. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I do agree that there is too much cream in the recipe and it is a time consumer. I did have fun making it though and it really would turn out pretty if the mousse wasn't quite so thin. Still, I refrigerated the mousse and then applied to the cake and it was still quite nice with the garnised raspberries. Made it for my sister's b-day and she and her kids raved over it. ( She is a fellow all-reciper)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
I haven't tried this recipe but i used it as a reference to make my white chocolate mousse and it turned out great. First melt chocolate with some heat cream and whisk till smooth. let cool down. if you don't it will melt the whipped cream which some who rated this recipe obviously did. whip the cream till soft peaks form and add a stabilizer and sugar to sweeten. whipped cream stabilizers are sold in specialty stores or online. piping gel also stabilizes cream to a nice thick consistency. next mix 1/4 of whipped cream into chocolate that has been cooled. next fold in another 1/4 of cream. do slowly so as keep airy and thick. you'll love these tips if used correctly!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARKRAZI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This wasn't awful or anything, but I wasn't really crazy about it. I did as another poster suggested and only used 1/2 c. cream to melt the chocolate. Everything tasted just fine, but I didn't care for the texture of the mousse after it sat for awhile. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
The flavors complemented each other very well, but insted of the "mousse" I simply made a white chocolate ganache to frost with. I also drizzled each layer with a lemon syrup I made from lemon juice and confectioner's sugar. I'll definitely use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States