Lemon Raspberry White Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Trish Casella
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Excellent Receipe. I did not add pudding mix as others suggested and my mousse frosting came out perfect. Here's a tip: Beat your cream in a VERY COLD metal bowl with ice cold beaters. (I freeze my bowl and beaters ahead of time). I also put the metal bowl inside a larger metal bowl filled with ice cubes, this makes your bowl and cream very cold. Beat it until it gets still peaks. I have to admit that I did not have white chocolate so I used a half of a bag of semi sweet chocolate chips instead. Also, I put the melted chocolate mixture into a large bowl (let it cool a bit) and folded the whipped cream into the chocolate with a wooded spoon, and with the wooded spoon very lightly mixing till it all blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Casella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is a good cake, but the mousse/frosting needs improvement. Next time, I will try the white chocolate pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
The mousse was not runny at all. I only added about 1/3 c of cream to the white chocolate when I melted it (in the microwave instead of stove). The consistency was perfect. The raspberry filling made plenty, so I did 2 layers of raspberry and the middle layer and frosting of the mousse. Overall, pretty good, pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
The combination of lemon and raspberry is wonderful, even my boyfriend who doesn't favor either said it tasted great. I did have a problem with the raspberry sauce.. it tasted okay, but smelled awful which made me a bit nervous so I ended up using regular raspberry preserves and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great recipe! Because there's so much filling, I actually did 2 layers of raspberry w/the icing in the middle layer. After reading many comments on how runny and difficult to work with the chocolate mousse is, I decided to ice the cake with a white chocolate frosting: melt 8 oz white chocolate with 1/4 c whipped cream and let cool. Beat in 1 c. butter, 1 1/4 c icing sugar. Turned out great! No mess, no fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This cake turned out amazing! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I've made this cake twice, and I found it relatively easy to make since I'm just a beginner baker. It tastes great too but I don't think that much cream is necessary because I always tend to have globs of it left over. I also strain the raspberries a little after pureeing since I prefer not having the seedy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I brought this to work and got rave reviews! I made a few changes. I used white cake instead of lemon. I also added about 2 Tbsp of sugar to the raspberries, and added a box of vanilla pudding to the mousse. At first, the mousse turned out very runny and gritty, but I just used my hand mixer on high and mixed it until it became fluffy again. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Remsen, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I have to say this is a bust. The white chocolate mousse is runny and won't frost the cake. I sit here with it half stuck to the sides of my cake and it looks awful. It's for my grandmothers 90th birthday and I don't know what to do. I did also try to add some vanilla instant pudding as someone recommended and it just became more "yellowed" and gross. I will never make this again. It's a good idea but in reality it is like putting yellowed soup on your cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is a little time consuming, but worth the effort, it turns out very light and delicious. I followed the advise of the reviewer who used instant pudding to thicken the mousse. I just whipped my cream until it was thick and sprinkled in about 2 TBS of vanilla instant pudding and it thickened immediately, so I didn't add anymore, then mixed in the white chocolate, it turned out very good, easy to frost, not runny at all. I didn't have raspberries so I used strawberries and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States