Lemon Pudding Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
"pudding" part was kind of bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
The only way the pudding could be bland tasting is if you use bottled lemon juice. I used fresh squeezed lemon juice and also used cream not milk. (Once in awhile you just have to give flavor to a recipe over skimping on fat.) This recipe was not the best lemon pudding recipe I've had but it was darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
A nice change from the usual baked cake & pudding recipes - caramel, chocolate, rhubarb, etc... It was full of flavour (I did use the zest of an entire lemon & fresh squeezed juice) and was very light. I topped it off with fresh raspberries and whipped cream...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I made this for my husband's birthday tonight. I followed the recipe exactly. We ate it fresh out of the oven, and between two adults and two toddlers, it was gone within ten minutes. The cake layer is light and airy, the pudding layer is creamy and lemony, and the whole thing was just delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I made this and used 1/3 cup fresh key lime juice and 1/2 teaspoon zest and added 1 3/4 cups milk the extra milk made more pudding. I served it warm. My guest thought it was wonderful and so did I. Lillie Crane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillie Crane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Made this exactly as described, no changes, and it was gone in minutes. Mine is a family of college kids, and this was a perfect hit. The next time I made it, I did a double-batch, and the leftovers were even better cold the next day for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Fantastic pudding cake! The cake was really light and airy, and the pudding was tart and sweet. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out delicious. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I made it according to the recipe but added slightly more lemon juice and it was great! super lemony and tart. Everyone at work and at home loved it. And so simple to make. Only problem was it was messy to serve. But it was delicious immediately out of the oven and still great the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This had a great tart lemon taste I was looking for but I thought the cake layer had an odd texture, not as much like a cake as I was anticipating. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazylazycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This didn't turn out for me. 40 minutes into the baking, and the top had barely even set. Ended up cooking it well over an hour and by then, the "pudding" curdled. Thanks for sharing. The flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States