Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I liked this recipe. I made a few changes: I added a box of instant lemon pudding mix, a tsp of lemon extract, and some lemon zest. I then put a lemon glaze made of lemon juice, powdered sugar and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reggie Tucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I seriously enjoyed this! and so did everyone else who tried it. The thing is I HATE boxed cake and this tasted nothing like a boxed cake. I too put a glaze on it with Fresh lemon juice and powdered sugar (which was excellent). So fresh and light. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Delicious and Moist. The cream cheese blended with the milk to a light mixture. I knew right then that this cake was going to be light and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Made with an 1/8th cup substituted with lemon juice not milk and it was pretty good. Depending on my lemon craving I may want to increase to 1/4th. Not as heavy as i wanted but thats okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Not very pound cake-y, but a keeper. I did use 1/4 c. lemon juice to sub in for some of the milk as others suggested. And I did use a white cake mix as that's all I had. Will try the lemon cake mix next time. Also, used a lemon glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was a really easy cake to make and wasn't bad although it certainly wasn't the best I've ever had. I followed the directions exactly and found that the cake browned too much so if I ever make this again I might take it out sooner rather than later. It was also a heavy cake which I wasn't expecting (first pound cake I've ever made) but a few people commented that pound cakes are supposed to be heavy. Who knew? I would prefer a lighter cake so I think I'll explore some other pound cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Excellent. Very moist. The kind of pound cake you are proud to serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This was a good lemon cake but not dense and heavy like a pound cake should be. We couldn't tell that it had cream cheese in it. Also after my family tried it, we decided it needed a lemon glaze to perk it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Very dry but it was helped by some vanilla icecream. I used nonfat buttermilk and neufchatel cheese. Baked exactly 42 minutes, done just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made this cake as written, and it was very good, but could have been more lemony. I did make a simple glaze of lemon juice, lemon zest and powdered sugar and that pumped up the tartness, but next time I think I will add some juice and zest to the cake, too. I like cakes that start with a mix. They are quick, easy, and usually turn out quite good. Thanks for another one to add to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States