Lemon Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
My grandmother used a recipe similar to this. She substituted two Tablespoons of lemon juice for 2 T. of water and then drizzled a lemon juice and powdered sugar glaze on top of it. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melissa, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Surprisingly enough with the lemon cake mix and lemon pudding, this cake did not have the lemon flavor I was looking for nor was it dense like pound cake. It was okay, nothing special, and I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
I do not like lemon anything..any way, any shape, any form. Until I tasted this cake. I needed something in a hurry for a group of veterans and decided this would be different. When everyone went nuts over it, I decided to take just a bite. Needless to say it has become a favorite. I did use only 2 eggs, and just dusted it with sifted powder sugar. Very refreshing cake. Just plain good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is the Duncan Hines pound cake recipe I have been using for years. Try adding a tub of lemon icing in the bottom of a bundt pan and then pouring your cake batter on top of that. Then when it's done, let it cool and drizzle lemon topping. Talk about a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised by this cake. Added lemon zest the second time around for added lemon flavor. Had a co-worker tell me it tasted like her grandmother's pound cake. Not too heavy, not too light. Satisfying and extremely easy, not to mention quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I used this recipe to make mini pound cakes and they came out perfect. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
I topped this with an orange juice / confectioners sugar glaze, and filled the center of the cake with fresh blackberries and raspberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Another wonderful cake that starts life in a box... I did change this recipe a little as I only had Vanilla Instant pudding mix, and was worried by using this I would not have much of a lemon flavor. I added 1 tablespoon of lemon zest and also a teaspoon of lemon extract. As always I used applesauce in place of the oil. Baked for 60 minutes and the cake was cooked to perfection. I just loved the moist lemon taste, great recipe that you can throw together in a few minutes. No once would honestly think this came out of a box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I was trying to duplicate an incredibly moist lemon cake I had gotten at a bake sale, but this one was pretty mediocre - not much different than making the lemon cake mix as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Wow!!!! I used the tip on removing 2 tbsp of water and replacing it with 2 tbsp of lemon juice and put a powder sugar/milk glaze on it and it's now the family favorite! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States