Lemon Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
So simple yet SO GOOD!! Absolutely delicious and super moist!! Hands down, one of my favorite cakes. Everyone loves it and wants a slice. The best lemon cake I've eaten. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffy Jeffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I would give this recpe 5 stars for taste and how well it was received by family and friends, but we all agree this is not a pound cake so we all were expecting something else, but it is still very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
we absolutely love it. the inside is soft and moist while the crust is golden brown and crisp. i added a tsp of vanilla. make sure you mix well before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EdibleArt
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is a wonderful lemony pound cake. Really moist and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdibleArt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Liza
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Easy to make, and delicious! I read the reviews before trying the recipe, and so I subsituted 2T of lemon juice for 2T of the water. I topped the cake with a simple glaze that I made from lemon juice and confectioner's sugar, and put sliced strawberries in the center for presentation - they add a great flavor along with the cake too! I will use this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is the exact recipe from the side of the Duncan Hines lemon cake mix box, which is good. To kick it up a notch and make it more like a true pound cake, substitute the water for milk. Even skim milk is fine. I also add the zest of a lemon to the batter when I've got one in the house. I dust mine with powdered sugar after it has cooled. Quick, easy, inexpensive, pretty, and people like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was an extremely moist and easy cake to make. I added some lemon extract for extra flavor. Not as dense as a typical pound cake but wonderful anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
We loved this cake. I did not get fancy with frosting. I used the Poor Man's Frosting recipe from this site. This cake was moist and delicious! We give it 5 stars! This will be added to our favorite's list. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
The only reason why this is getting a four instead of a five is because I didn't think that the cake was not dense enough to be labeled as a pound cake, however, the cake was moist, lemon tasting without being tart, and overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Very moist and great flavor. I added a coulple Tbsp of lemon juice to the water. The lemon was not overbearing nor bland, just perfect. I put a glaze made out of powder sugar and lemon juice on the cake while it was still warm. Very easy directions to follow, my nine year old son made most of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States