Lemon Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Another wonderful cake that starts life in a box... I did change this recipe a little as I only had Vanilla Instant pudding mix, and was worried by using this I would not have much of a lemon flavor. I added 1 tablespoon of lemon zest and also a teaspoon of lemon extract. As always I used applesauce in place of the oil. Baked for 60 minutes and the cake was cooked to perfection. I just loved the moist lemon taste, great recipe that you can throw together in a few minutes. No once would honestly think this came out of a box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is the Duncan Hines pound cake recipe I have been using for years. Try adding a tub of lemon icing in the bottom of a bundt pan and then pouring your cake batter on top of that. Then when it's done, let it cool and drizzle lemon topping. Talk about a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This cake is outstanding. I cooked it in the oven for 55 minutes and when i pulled it out it smelled delicious i topped it with powdered sugar and it was to die for! this is a great and easy recipe for anyone to make and tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
After a few adjustments i can now give it a 5 star! I added juice and zest of one lemon and added to the water to measure 1 cup. Also added 1-1/2 tea. lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delish- perfect for breakfast....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyMarkmann
Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
So simple yet SO GOOD!! Absolutely delicious and super moist!! Hands down, one of my favorite cakes. Everyone loves it and wants a slice. The best lemon cake I've eaten. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffy Jeffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I would give this recpe 5 stars for taste and how well it was received by family and friends, but we all agree this is not a pound cake so we all were expecting something else, but it is still very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzana Dasilva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
we absolutely love it. the inside is soft and moist while the crust is golden brown and crisp. i added a tsp of vanilla. make sure you mix well before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EdibleArt
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is a wonderful lemony pound cake. Really moist and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdibleArt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Liza
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Easy to make, and delicious! I read the reviews before trying the recipe, and so I subsituted 2T of lemon juice for 2T of the water. I topped the cake with a simple glaze that I made from lemon juice and confectioner's sugar, and put sliced strawberries in the center for presentation - they add a great flavor along with the cake too! I will use this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States