Lemon Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
easy, quick and moist for a box cake mix. I took a slight modifcation and made cupcakes instead of a bundt cake in a pan as I did not have a bundt pan handy. Very easy and quick to put together the ingredients. I baked for 22 minutes and ended up 18 cupcakes. As for the lemony flavor, I think if I had added a little lemon zest and/or lemon extract to the batter to give it a more lemony flavor it would have made it to a 5 stars. I might also add a dust of powdered sugar to the top or a lemon glaze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Easy and nice flavour. I just used 2 eggs and seemed to be OK! I served with warm lemon sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This was a good recipes.....but still tasted like I used a box mix. Next time, I may add some lemon vest...to give it a "real lemon" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KODOHERTY
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Wow!!!! I used the tip on removing 2 tbsp of water and replacing it with 2 tbsp of lemon juice and put a powder sugar/milk glaze on it and it's now the family favorite! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Groves, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I made this for my sister-in-law's birthday yesterday and it was well liked by everyone. I made as directed and then put a little glaze on it, made of powdered sugar and lemon juice. I garnished the serving dish with fresh strawberries, blueberries, and thin lemon slices. In my opinion, this is more of just a dense cake as opposed to a traditional pound cake, but that does not detract from the deliciousness of this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Another wonderful cake that starts life in a box... I did change this recipe a little as I only had Vanilla Instant pudding mix, and was worried by using this I would not have much of a lemon flavor. I added 1 tablespoon of lemon zest and also a teaspoon of lemon extract. As always I used applesauce in place of the oil. Baked for 60 minutes and the cake was cooked to perfection. I just loved the moist lemon taste, great recipe that you can throw together in a few minutes. No once would honestly think this came out of a box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is the Duncan Hines pound cake recipe I have been using for years. Try adding a tub of lemon icing in the bottom of a bundt pan and then pouring your cake batter on top of that. Then when it's done, let it cool and drizzle lemon topping. Talk about a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This cake is outstanding. I cooked it in the oven for 55 minutes and when i pulled it out it smelled delicious i topped it with powdered sugar and it was to die for! this is a great and easy recipe for anyone to make and tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
After a few adjustments i can now give it a 5 star! I added juice and zest of one lemon and added to the water to measure 1 cup. Also added 1-1/2 tea. lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delish- perfect for breakfast....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyMarkmann
Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States