Lemon Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Made this last night. I took another reviewer's advice and used milk instead of the water. I added two teaspoons of lemon juice and a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I made a glaze of orange juice, a bit of lemon juice and confectioners sugar. This is a great cake! It isn't quite the texture of a pound cake, but who cares when it tastes fabulous! It's fluffy and moist and there was the perfect lemon flavor to it without being overpowering. I think this will also make really great cupcakes, so next time I'll try that. Hubby says be sure to keep this recipe. I agree! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
A friend of mine gave me a recipe similar to this years ago. I thought that the one I had called for yogurt. However, this was just as moist as I remember the pound cake being. I use a yellow cake mix, lemon pudding, and juiced one lemon, which I put in the measuring cup and added the water to in order to fill one cup and not go over. I loved it. My children thought it was just a bit too sour. We made a glaze from lemon juice and confection sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
If it doesn't have enough lemon flavor, there are so many simple things you can do to enhance it. I substitute 2 tsp. of water for 2 tsp. of lemon extract. I bake mine in two 9x5 loaf pans. (35 minutes @ 350). Make a glaze of powdered sugar, a little veg. oil and ReaLemon lemon juice to the consistency you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hico, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Mmmmm my error made it a true pound cake, even after I added cook n serve pudding by mistake this came out beautiful! I used 1/2 C of half n half, 1/2 C milk, 3 eggs, 1/3 Veg oil, 4 Tablespoons of Minute Maid lemon juice (the frozen bottle), when I realized I used the cook n serve pudding I added another tablespoon of lemon juice, 1 Tablespoon of water, 4 Tablespoons of Flour, 1/16 (a pinch) teaspoon of baking soda and 1/16 teaspoon of baking powder. The batter came out thick, the result was a more dense pound cake, I made a medium glaze drizzle using about 1/2 container of cream cheese icing and added 4 Tablespoons of Lemon juice. It still turned out great, with my error using cook n serve pudding I thought it may not rise but it did! I should have added more milk or water rather than flour. If you make the same mistake I did, change the amount of water or milk to 1 1/4 Cup and forget the additions I made. 4 slices are gone already! would be heaven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Recently I received a Kitchenaid mixer for our 24 wedding anniversary! This my family's favorite recipe for lemon pound cake and the very first thing I am making in my mixer~! I doubled the recipe because my family devours this delicious cake! An instant family fave!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Used to love this recipe- great for taking on picnic (Busy working mother of four). However the mix is now 16.5 ounces and now the cake is small, flat, gooey.... so One star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Super hit!!! This was awesome and I didn't even put a glaze on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
The kids loved this! I actually only got a little piece! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roanoke, Alabama, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I agree with JillyBean . Take the cake out of the mould before putting on the glaze. Mine stuck to the pan and only part came out . It tasted great and I will make this recipe again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is the recipe I use for any flavor of bundt cake. It's always a big hit. This is a fool-proof recipe. :) mix and match flavors- I'm making funfetti mix with vanilla pudding today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States