Lemon Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
So easy to make, they think I spent all day baking. And it does taste like Sara Lee's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
Very Sara Lee(TM) pound cake that we all love to buy but now can be made at home. Excellent! Slightly underbaking it will reveal nice moist interior. Wonderful even when served cold. Just like Sara Lee's(TM).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
This cake was very moist and lemony. It goes very well with lemon curd and a cup of hot tea. Easy throw it together cake. It's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
De-lish! Definitely you don't want to overbake it – it will dry out. Top it with a delicious lemon icing: combine 1 tbsp of soft butter or margarine with 2 tbsp of lemon juice, and mix into 2/3 cup of icing sugar. Blend well and spread over the top of the cooled cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
I had high hopes, based on previous comments, that this would taste like Sara Lee's. Although it's a decent pound cake, it's not like Sara Lee's. I baked it 40 minutes to slightly underbake it. Since pound cakes are usually better the next day, I hoped that it would somehow resemble Sara Lee's the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Something is the matter with this recipe.. Not enough flour? It was cooked for 45 minutes and I wasn't in the least impressed.. If Sara Lees pound cake taste like this I would never buy one.. It just didn't seem to be cooked enough and it tasted more like shortbread than a pound cake. I wasted my ingredience..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Very tasty! I doubled the recipe and left it in the oven for an extra 17 minutes. It turned out very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Well, I had a bad experience with this recipe. The cake turned out quite oily - it left oil on your hands and there was residue in the pan. I only greased the pan quite lightly, I can't imagine it was that. Also, the cake rose wonderfully for 35 minutes or so and then began to sink. It was only just browned on top when I took it out after about 42 minutes, and while it was cooked through it tasted very granular/grainy and was oily. Some people thought it was "OK", some wouldn't eat it. I think you should look elsewhere. Any ideas on what the problem might be? (Perhaps "cake flour" has two meanings, or something.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I just took this cake out of the oven and I couldn't wait till it cooled to try a small slice. It tastes yummy! I accidentally forgot to add the baking powder to it, so it did not rise quite so much, but I still think it tastes great and seems very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUVBROWNIES
Home Town: Mebane, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: May 22, 2004
Very nice recipe and excellent with organic strawberries & whipped cream. Any graininess/oiliness as noted by other reviews is probably due to the butter being closer to melted than room temp, it will separate during mixing and cause problems. To fix, chill the lemon juice before adding to re-firm the butter. The recipe doesn't say when to add the baking powder (!) so I suggest sifting it into the flour before adding the flour. Hint: if you don't have unsalted butter handy, leave out the salt in the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States