Lemon Posset Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This is my new favorite dessert. As others suggested, I cut the sugar to 1 cup & added the zest of one lemon. I served it in small antique sundae glasses & topped with a splash of cream, 3 raspberries & a sprig of mint. All my friends were impressed & I raved about the fresh lemon flavor. Everyone wanted the recipe. I had no problems with it setting up. However, as I was making it, I thought it would be a great ice cream. Just cool, then put in the ice cream maker. Even if it is a custard consistency, you can still make ice cream with it. I might try this with lime, too, & serve it after a Mexican meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was smooth, rich, tangy, overall AMAZING! And it was so easy to make! I used some fresh Meyer lemons and Trader Joe's heavy cream- when a recipe has only three ingredients quality of ingredients becomes very important. The whole family loved it, from my husband to my four year old. I also made the Lemon Meltaways from this site and they were a perfect companion to the posset. I will definitely put this in my repertoire of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I tried this recipe after my Mother ( who cannot cook to save her life, sorry Mom) tried it and failed. I don't even like lemony thing, But,this is brilliant and you deserve praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Delicious as written! I have a SAFTY HINT for this recipe. Since the lemon, cream, sugar mixture is extremely hot as you pour it into your dessert dishes, I have thought of a safe way to put the hot dessert dishes into the fridge without getting burned. Place the empty dessert dishes in a low sided baking dish or tray, when filling them with the posset mixture. Once you have filled all of the dishes, pick up the baking dish and slide it into the fridge. This way you don't have to worry about getting burned, from the hot mixture, when picking up each dessert dish and putting it in the fridge individually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Wow! Lemon Posset, where have you been all my life? What a sweet pleasure this dessert is. It does soften rather quickly upon removing from the refrigerator, but I remedied that by freezing it for just a few hours before serving. It doesn't harden too much, but stays firm much longer. I did add the zest of one of the lemons, because it seemed to be screaming for that. By the way, one recipe makes about 32 oz, which is helpful if you're trying to divide the mixture equally between serving dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Super easy and delicious. I added lemon zest and I would reduce the sugar next time. Too sweet. But otherwise - awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was lovely. I boiled mine for three minutes until it began to thicken on the sides of the pan but given that there is no flour it sets into a thick creme rather than a custard, even after leaving it overnight. The recipe gets four stars for specifying number of lemons rather than spoons or mls of lemon juice, because the size of people's lemons can differ. This may be the reason why people were complaining the recipe is too tart or sweet. To overcome this simply taste the mixture as you add lemon juice and adjust accordingly. I added vanilla to mine- you could add a vanilla bean at the beginning, I didn't as it was the first time trying the recipe. Some people suggested using lemon zest- I do not like the "marmalade effect" so I put two strips of peel in at the beginning so I could extract the lemon oils and then easily fish the peel out when I added the juice. I will try this again with different flavours such as lime or orange with a spoonful of cocoa (chocolate-orange creme). It would also lend itself well to floral notes, such as a hint of rosewater or for something really unique, pandan extract which I have used successfully with lemon yoghurt. Maybe orange blossom water or limoncello would be nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I'm not a total lemon dessert lover, but when I saw the recipe, I thought I'd try it. (I have to admit, the picture definitely caught my attention.) I halved the recipe. I'm not sure if that affected how it set or if I should have put it in serving glasses (I just poured it all in a bowl). It didn't set entirely even after the time suggested. When I first tried it, it was WAY sweet and I almost threw it away. Someone suggested to me to freeze it, which I did and found it much more edible. If I make it again and whether I freeze it or not, I will definitely cut the sugar down. Had I not frozen it, I would've given this recipe 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Sensational flavor and shockingly easy. The smooth creaminess blends with the lemon tart flavor for a truly refreshing dessert. I only made 1/3 of the recipe since it was too hard to justify eating so much decadence all by myself (though I easily could have eaten more!). This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Excellent taste and quickly made. Adding a little lemon zest makes it extra tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States