Lemon Posset Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Very creamy. Made exactly according to directions. Wonderfully easy and silky smooth. Garnished with the extra cream and some fresh strawberries. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This is a very good recipe. A little posset goes along way so I served it in very small cups. I did add more lemon juice, almost double, but that is just personal taste. I made it to take to dinner at a friend's house and one of the guests is chef at a very nice hotel. He asked me for the recipe! High praise indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
i quite liked it and it was very simple and easy. I plan to make it for my mother's birthday...but with key lime and a graham crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrnTheEmpireDown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Wow! Lemon Posset, where have you been all my life? What a sweet pleasure this dessert is. It does soften rather quickly upon removing from the refrigerator, but I remedied that by freezing it for just a few hours before serving. It doesn't harden too much, but stays firm much longer. I did add the zest of one of the lemons, because it seemed to be screaming for that. By the way, one recipe makes about 32 oz, which is helpful if you're trying to divide the mixture equally between serving dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keisha B.
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I am a pastry chef, and I use this recipe all the time for our Chef's Table. It is quick and easy to prepare. It scales really well, and it holds up well for dinner service. It lends itself to an elegant presentation. Best of all, our customers love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keisha B.

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Just fabulous and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This is my new favorite dessert. As others suggested, I cut the sugar to 1 cup & added the zest of one lemon. I served it in small antique sundae glasses & topped with a splash of cream, 3 raspberries & a sprig of mint. All my friends were impressed & I raved about the fresh lemon flavor. Everyone wanted the recipe. I had no problems with it setting up. However, as I was making it, I thought it would be a great ice cream. Just cool, then put in the ice cream maker. Even if it is a custard consistency, you can still make ice cream with it. I might try this with lime, too, & serve it after a Mexican meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I loved the concept of this dessert, but the result was disappointing. It was far too rich for even my husband to eat (and the man can scarf down amazing quantities of chocolate mousse at one go). The posset also 'melted' very quickly once it left the fridge, and I felt like I was eating vaguely lemony cream. Sorry! Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I haven't personally made this yet, but my friend did. YUMMMMMMMMM Super easy and SO worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I'm not a total lemon dessert lover, but when I saw the recipe, I thought I'd try it. (I have to admit, the picture definitely caught my attention.) I halved the recipe. I'm not sure if that affected how it set or if I should have put it in serving glasses (I just poured it all in a bowl). It didn't set entirely even after the time suggested. When I first tried it, it was WAY sweet and I almost threw it away. Someone suggested to me to freeze it, which I did and found it much more edible. If I make it again and whether I freeze it or not, I will definitely cut the sugar down. Had I not frozen it, I would've given this recipe 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States