Lemon Posset Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was lovely. I boiled mine for three minutes until it began to thicken on the sides of the pan but given that there is no flour it sets into a thick creme rather than a custard, even after leaving it overnight. The recipe gets four stars for specifying number of lemons rather than spoons or mls of lemon juice, because the size of people's lemons can differ. This may be the reason why people were complaining the recipe is too tart or sweet. To overcome this simply taste the mixture as you add lemon juice and adjust accordingly. I added vanilla to mine- you could add a vanilla bean at the beginning, I didn't as it was the first time trying the recipe. Some people suggested using lemon zest- I do not like the "marmalade effect" so I put two strips of peel in at the beginning so I could extract the lemon oils and then easily fish the peel out when I added the juice. I will try this again with different flavours such as lime or orange with a spoonful of cocoa (chocolate-orange creme). It would also lend itself well to floral notes, such as a hint of rosewater or for something really unique, pandan extract which I have used successfully with lemon yoghurt. Maybe orange blossom water or limoncello would be nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Five for ease and five for taste. I don't eat desserts because I'm always on a diet. I had my family taste these for me and they felt the dessert was too sweet, which can be easily adjusted. I did taste it and agree about too sweet. I am giving a luncheon and can't be cooking when my quests arrive so I will make these in advance. I will serve smaller portions with fresh fruit. Tossing around doing a layered dessert. This being one layer. But because of the ease this is my dessert choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was pleasant enough but it was nothing special. I am NOT one to turn my nose up at a dessert because of fat/calories, but for me the final product here was absolutely not worth the fat... I'm going to use the rest of the cream for creme brulee, which is worth the fat. We won't finish the posset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Mmmmm.. Very tart (possibly too tart), great texture. It is yummy but hard to finish an entire serving in one sitting because of the tartness. Good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Awesome...I added a little more lemon juice and zest...This got raves from my boyfriend. I also put it in the freezer instead of the fridge. It sets much faster and I prefer a more firm consistency. I can't wait to make this for guests! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mollieu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
So simple and delicious. My husband who is not a big lemon fan asks for this now and my 5 year old like to help make it. I use 1 cup of sugar and zest from 1 lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Lots of lemony flavor, which I liked alot but I did have trouble getting it to set all the way through. Still this was tasty and I cut the sugar to 1 cup as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Delicious! I Love a simple 3 ingredient recipe and it was so easy to prepare. Have made this for several events and it's always a hit. If you like lemon you can't miss with this recipe. Be sure to include the lemon rind suggested by several reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Wow. You must try this very simple and easy dessert. I used meyer lemons from Trader Joes and scaled down the recipe to one serving since I am the only one who eats sweets in my home. It is an easy and quick tasty dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I love lemon. Will try it with alternative ingredients to reduce the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2wrkout

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Limestone, Maine, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States