Lemon Poppy Seed Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Great recipe!!! To change it up, replace Lemon with 2 T of Orange Zest and 2 T of the Oranges Juice. Mmm very good indeed ~.~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunnybear

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Hoped for a stronger lemon flavor. Made as directed and it's a light flavor. Next time I will add lemon zest and extract. Great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teasnob
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Great delicate, melt-in-your-mouth shortbread. Doubled the lemon juice and halved the poppy seeds per household preference. My Scottish genes are dancing at this, my first attempt at making shortbread. Can't wait to play around with this recipe more! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasnob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Very good! I had a lemon poppy seed shortbread cookie at an event recently and just had to try to make my own. These are great! I added 1/2 teaspoon of lemon extract and about an extra 1/2 tablespoon of lemon juice. I cut these out with a cookie cutter and baked for 11 minutes. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Wonderful! I made one small change and added a tsp of lemon extract. Also, due to time constraints, I patted the dough into one big rectangle and scored it into squares with a pizza cutter. Baked it for the 25 minutes at 325 and they're perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is the first lemon cookie I have come to love! The lemon in this delicate cookie is faint and the poppyseeds give a great crunch! Perfect with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I made these as the recipe describes. They were pretty good, but not really great until I put left over cream cheese frosting from the homemade oreo cookies I made the night before. Then they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Just ok, does not wow your sock off but is not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Pretty darn good. I think next time I will double everything to make them thicker, or maybe use some more confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I like my cookies a little sweeter so I dusted mine with powdered sugar while they were still warm. It really helped and made them prettier!! I also added lemon zest and reduced the poppy seeds to 2 tsps. PERFECT!! Also after I cut them into wedges, I seperated the wedges just slightly, so that they'd be easier to break apart into individual peices without crumbling. Overall a very nice, delicately flavored lemon cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States