Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I read many reviews before making these muffins. I noticed that many felt the muffins were dry. When I looked at the baking time and temperature, I had the answer. Mine were done at between 12 and 13 minutes. I was really hoping for a very lemony muffin, but these didn't deliver. They are moist, slightly lemon-flavored muffins. The glaze is a nice touch, but I made extra to make certain the muffins were all covered. I needed it all. I did not thin with milk, but used extra lemon juice. I may make these again, but will double or triple the extract, double the zest, and add lemon juice to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I loved the glaze, that's what really made these good, but it does make them pretty lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Good. Not that lemony. Good texture, but more cakey than like a muffin. Overall ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I thought these were great. The lemon taste was amazing. I did add a little more lemon extract than recommended just to enhance the flavor. The glaze is ESSENTIAL for this muffin, too. It is not too sweet... it just adds to the lemon flavor and makes the muffin moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I added an extra 1/4 cup of sugar and 2 tsp of real lemon juice to the batter. Next time I think I would add even a little more sugar to the batter it is not very sweet and needs more lemon flavor in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These muffins tasted great. The only complaint I have is that they were a bit heavy (I prefer a light texture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I thought the muffins were pretty good. I used a whole cup of lemon yogurt and 1/3 cup oil. They were plenty moist but I thought it lacked a good lemon flavor, and I even used 2 tablespoons of lemon zest. Next time I will use more extract and more sugar b/c I thought they weren't sweet enough for my taste. I usually don't like a glaze topping, but it really makes these muffins. I will definitely try these again in order to perfect the recipe to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I put in extra lemon juice and used plain yogurt. I love lemon poppyseed muffins and loved these!!! Make sure to mix wet/dry ingredients separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefasheroo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
These muffins turned out OK. There wasn't a lot of lemon flavor to them. It might have been the brand of yogurt I used. Also, the icing is very peculiar tasting. A better alternative would be mixing a little milk with the powdered sugar and then adding about 1/2 t. of lemon extract. That turned out much better than the icing listed for this recipe. I'm just looking for a muffin with more lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Really good basic recipe but needs more lemon flavor. I would rather have more lemon flavor in the muffin than use a glaze. Without the glaze these would only be poppy seed muffins in my opinion. So just up the lemon extract to 1/2-1 tsp and it'll be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefspecialty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States