Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
followed the recommendation to reduce the poppy seeds and added a bit of vanilla extract. They turned out beautiful and tasted great (used zest and juice from a meyer lemon from our backyard) - I had a dozen regular size muffins to bring to a teacher's brunch plus a handful of minis for our family. Will definitely be making these again, as my family was disappointed to get only one mini each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
muffins are so moist! i had plain yogurt so I added a table spoon of lemon flavoring. also as i was folding the batter it was still a bit dry...so i added a table spoon of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Love these muffins! When I plan on traveling with these muffins, or storing them in a ziploc bag, I don't do the glaze part. They are still really yummy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANDECAHOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
These were good. I used 12oz. of yogurt, but plan to make them again with 8oz. of lemon yogurt. I used butter in place of the oil. Overall, they were moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe. I used plain yogurt and just added a little bit more lemon zest and it worked fine. I would probably add even more next time (2 tbsp +). The lemon/sugar finishing touch made it just right for lemon flavour. I only used 1/8 cup of poppy seeds as was recommended by someone else and it was a perfect amount. I also only baked them for 12 minutes at 400 deg. I can see how they could turn out dry if you bake them longer than that but 12 minutes was more than enough time. Overall, it's a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anisa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These are great and I use a simple sugar glaze on top. Very good and I use agave and applesauce in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Sorry to say but I did not enjoy these very much. They were a little on the dry side and didnt have enough lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Very good! I used two small containers of Yoplait "Lemon Burst" flavored yogurt. I also made no changes to the recipe except to half the amount of poppy seeds (1/4 cup is WAY too much AND poppy seeds are EXPENSIVE) and to add a little powdered sugar to the top. The muffins turned out a little dry in my opinion, but they were still really yummy, and oh so easy to make. I like mine warm with melted butter, and hubby likes his with cream cheese. A fantastic breakfast treat or midnight snack! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I just made these today and WOW!! Great recipe. We have been buying lemon poppyseed muffins from the grocery store and although we enjoy them, they are very greasy. I decided to try these and the only things I did different was to follow other reviewers tips to use only 1/8c. of poppyseeds and added a bit of fresh lemon juice to the batter as well. I used just a smidgen more than 1/4c of oil but I am sure the 1/3 would still be fine. I found a lemon meringue parfait flavored yogurt by Yoplait called Source Dessert Selections so that is what I used. Love the lemon juice/ sugar touch at the end. I had no problems of puddling. After they are baked, poke holes with a toothpick and brush on the juice. These were fabulouse!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
These tasted great!!! I did change things around a bit. I used about 1/4 c. of soymilk and the juice of 1-1/2 cups of real lemons rather than yogurt. I increased the oil to 1/3 cup. I added the juice of 1 lemon to the batter. I used the last half lemon and one tbsp of sugar to pour over the muffins after baking. They were really lemony and moist. This should help those of you who didn't get enough lemon taste!! It really worked. I also sprayed the muffin tins with lemon flavored baking spray rather than greasing the muffin tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States