Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
These came out great and were devoured at work. I did follow the other reviewers recommendations and increase the yogurt to about 1.5C and the oil by a splash as well as decreasing baking time to 16mins. They were nice and moist. I also increased the zest by a few shreds and added 1T lemon juice, but they still could have used a bit more lemon flavor. I will definitely make these again, maybe with double the zest and 2T lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjeanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
These were alright, I doubled the recipe but only used the original amount of poppy seeds. I had to add a couple splashes of milk in order to get enough liquid to mix with the dry ingredients. They have alright flavour, but not enough lemon for me (and I added lemon extract) they also came out pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
everyone in the family loved them.My friend pretended my dog ate one so she could sneak another.My father said to make them every weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I don't know what we did wrong. Perhaps it was the 50/50 applesauce/oil mixture we used, or the fact that I used vanilla yogurt (t was what I had on hand). At any rate, I don't feel confident enough in the base recipe to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
An average muffin. The lemon sugar poured over the muffin afterward helps spunk it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Excellent! Thank you for the recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I gave this one a 4 for effort. I did change a few things in the recipe. I used more lemon zest, plain yogurt (and a bit more than suggested once I seen how the mixture was still a bit dry) and added a lot more lemon juice. (because of the plain yogurt and I like things really lemony) I thought they turned out really well but I wish I had used a different glaze for them because the one recommended here was just too runny and didn't co operate very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Loved this! I didn't have lemon-flavored yogurt so I used plain and added 1 tsp lemon extract. And I accidentally put the 1/3 c lemon juice into my mix - but everyone loved it. The lemon flavor wasn't at all overpowering. The batter seemed really dry so I was careful not to overmix. They came out nice and moist though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
O.K., so I didn't read the instructions first and got a bit ahead of myself adding the lemon juice to the muffins. Not a problem... they turned out great despite my mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
The muffins were moist and flavourful, but lacked something to really make them excellent. The glaze also didn't really cooperate for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States