Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I don't know what we did wrong. Perhaps it was the 50/50 applesauce/oil mixture we used, or the fact that I used vanilla yogurt (t was what I had on hand). At any rate, I don't feel confident enough in the base recipe to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
An average muffin. The lemon sugar poured over the muffin afterward helps spunk it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Excellent! Thank you for the recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I gave this one a 4 for effort. I did change a few things in the recipe. I used more lemon zest, plain yogurt (and a bit more than suggested once I seen how the mixture was still a bit dry) and added a lot more lemon juice. (because of the plain yogurt and I like things really lemony) I thought they turned out really well but I wish I had used a different glaze for them because the one recommended here was just too runny and didn't co operate very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Loved this! I didn't have lemon-flavored yogurt so I used plain and added 1 tsp lemon extract. And I accidentally put the 1/3 c lemon juice into my mix - but everyone loved it. The lemon flavor wasn't at all overpowering. The batter seemed really dry so I was careful not to overmix. They came out nice and moist though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
O.K., so I didn't read the instructions first and got a bit ahead of myself adding the lemon juice to the muffins. Not a problem... they turned out great despite my mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
The muffins were moist and flavourful, but lacked something to really make them excellent. The glaze also didn't really cooperate for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I loved these muffins! I did make a couple of small changes. I used plain yogurt instead of lemon flavored. I also added just a bit more oil than it asked for. I know that some people on here only put in 1/8 cup of poppy seeds but I put in the whole 1/4 cup and thought that it was good. I will definitely make these again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rossland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These muffins were a bit dry, even though I added some milk and baked them for only 15 minutes. I might try this again but add more milk or oil. I took other reviewers' suggestion to add 1/8 c poppy seeds, and that was indeed plenty! I also used plain yogurt instead of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made these a couple days ago and have been having them for breakfast. They have stayed very moist and delicious! I made several changes to the wet ingredients, though, which I think helped. I used: 2 eggs, 1 6oz container plain Greek yogurt (standard single-serving size), 1/4 cup vegetable oil, and 1 cup of plain applesauce. The addition of the applesauce makes a huge difference to the moistness, and you can't taste it at all. I also used the zest from 2 lemons, which was probably closer to 1.5 or 2 Tbsp, because I wanted to make sure they were really lemony, and they are - not really tart, just very flavorful. I also used half white and half whole wheat flour (1 cup each), which I always do when making muffins so I can pretend to myself they are somewhat healthier. They turned out really well with these modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States