Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
these are very yummy, i love the lemon flavor. i've made them a couple of times. very moist but just a little crunch on the outside. good to heat up and add a little butter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
These muffins were excellent. I made a few substitutions since I didn't have lemon yogurt, so I used vanilla yogurt and added lemon extract. Additionally, I only had 6oz. of yogurt (standard single serving container), so I added a little bit of milk to make up the extra. Per others suggestions, I used 1/3c. vegetable oil insted of 1/4c. I used only about 2 Tbsp. poppy seeds and that was plenty. I accidentally overbaked them a little while surfing the internet, but they're still great. Crunchy outside, moist inside. I skipped the glaze because they seemed good enough without it. May try it with in the future though. Thanks for the excellent recipe Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Dry, but I plan to try again with a few changes. The changes I made the first time: doubled the poppy seeds, doubled the lemon zest, only used 6 oz yogurt, doubled the sugar in the topping, used a Texas size muffin pan. They were tasty but dry around the margins, possibly because of the larger size muffins. Next time, I will use 12 oz yogurt and bake at 350 F. I might add some lemon extract, because we like strongly-flavored muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This is a good recipe if you make the changes that others have suggested. As KEBRAZZ suggested: I used 16 oz of Lemon Yogurt; and 1/8 cup Poppy Seeds (1/8 was a lot. You can use less than 1/8 cup Poppy Seeds and it will be fine). As ELONA suggested: I use butter, but only 1/3 cup butter (Elona used 1/2 cup). 1/3 cup butter was more than adequate. Also, I got tired when grating the Lemon Zest -- so I used less than a tablespoon. The topping really made the muffins special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I didn't really modify this recipe at all and I had no problems with it being dry. Please remember when making muffins it is imperative that you not overmix. In fact, you're better off leaving the batter in a state that seems woefully undermixed to you. As for modifications, I did use lime yogurt instead of lemon, added a bit of lemon extract, and added orange-flavored crasins. Delicious. Beware the glaze, though: I loved it, but it was quite tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I was really nervous about trying these since most of the readers said they were dry. I decided to follow a couple of the reviews and am glad I did! These muffins are awesome and are NOT dry at all! I added one extra lemon yogurt and decreased the amount of poppy seeds as suggested. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I really love these, I think the lemon juice and sugar really give them a great extra lemon flavor. I will make these again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
I was a little disapointed in this recipe. They were not as moist as I had hoped. I wonder if I did something wrong. Anyway, my husband enjoyed them so maybe I'm just picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Yummy!! That's the word my kids were using all morning. After reviewing the comments, I made a few variations. First, I noted that the recipe says buttermilk can be used in place of yogurt, although it's not listed as an ingredient, so I made that substitution. Also, I added 1 TBS of lemon extract. We like a lemony taste, so someone else may want to use less. I used only 2 TBS of poppy seeds. I also used 1/2 a cup of butter, in place of vegetable oil (which may be why we found them to be moist!) Last, I baked them for about 15 minutes, instead of 20. Minor variations, because the lemon sauce you drizzle on at the end *makes* these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
Even after reading the reviews and making the adjustments, they were dry. In fact the batter was almost like cookie dough so I added milk. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States