Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This recipe was just okay to me. The glaze was good, but it seemed to only be there to cover the bland flavor of the actual muffin. It didn't seem lemony enough, but this could be my fault, as I used a bit under a tablespoon of zest and "lemon merguine" yogurt rather than plain lemon. I'll probably make again, perhaps adding a bit of lemon juice to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I loved this muffins! I did follow the advice of others though and used 16 oz of lemon yogurt, 2 heaping tablespoons of poppy seeds, 1 tablespoon of lemon extract, and 2 grated lemon peels. I also made mini muffins baked at 350 for 11 minutes. Once the muffins were cool, I juiced the lemons and added 1 1/3 cup powdered sugar to make a yummy glaze! I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
The only thing I changed was the amount of poppy seeds. I reduced them to 2 tbsp. Delicious warm. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
These are good muffins. Not lemon-y enough for us. However, I should say that I did *not* make the lemon glaze. We don't "do glaze" on muffins:~) That just makes them too sweet. At any rate, I changed a couple of things. I actually used the 1/3 cup of fresh lemon juice IN the muffin batter (vs. in the glaze). I made mini muffins with this recipe (24) and ended up with batter left; enough to make four full sized muffins! The batter was very thick and a bit difficult to work with. Definately not pourable. Pretty much near the consistency of cookie dough. I will cut down the amount of poppy seeds next time. 1/3 cup is way too much (and I love poppy seeds!). Most recipes call for 2 tablespoons. I think I will start out with that next time and just eye-ball it to see if I need to add more. The muffins are moist enough...but really good with a bit of butter! I will make these again and perhaps add more fresh lemon juice. I really thought the lemon yogurt would give them a kick, but it didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Delicious! I am eating the first one right now, hot out of the oven and it is PERFECT! I love lemon poppy seed muffins and this is the recipe I will stick with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
These came out great! Followed directions exactly and used a silicon pan. Texture is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pancake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
These were a bit hit! I did alter the recipe a bit, added extra lemon extract and used about a cup of whole milk yogurt so they would be more moist. They were good muffins, will definitely make them again. They tasted delicious even the next day with some butter on top. I would recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
AWESOME. I love lemon & I love poppy seeds. This is the best recipe I have found for both! I doubled the poppy seeds as I can never get enough!! I noticed some reviewers thought 1/4 cup way too much, hmm go figure. Some also stated they were dry, but that could be from overmixing?? I didn't have lemon yogurt so I used plain with extra lemon juice. The glaze is what really finishes these gems off!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Was not impressed with this. Not very lemon-y and to much poppy seed. The "glaze" for the top didn't do much of anything but run over the side and off the top of the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States