Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Good, moist, nice lemon flavor. I used a very scant 1/4 c poppy seed, after reading other reviews. I screwed up the last part, instead mixing the lemon juice into the batter. It turned out great despite the mistake and I didn't add the last few T of sugar. They are sweet enough for me! I had enough batter to fill one regular muffin and a mini muffin tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HipChickDigs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Flavor was great, but they came out dry. Mine were done @ 13 minutes. 30 minutes would be way to long. I think the higher temp dries them out. I will try 375 or 350 next time. I used 2 tbsp poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This recipe was good when I followed other suggestions of doing 1/3 cup of oil and 1/8 cup of poppy seeds and adding 1 tbsp of lemon extract and 1&1/8 cups of lemon yogurt. They only need to bake between 10-12 minutes for sure. with these changes they are WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I followed the receipe and I agree with alot of the other reviews, these are very dry muffins. As I love this kind of muffin I'm willing to try it again this time adding more oil to make them moist as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These were very dry and did not have much lemon flavor. Not worth the time to took to make them. I will keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I used this recipe to make mini muffins for a baby shower. They turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I thought these were great! Mine came out a bit flat, but still moist and yummy. It didn't take 20 minutes to bake. The edges were getting too brown. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I loved these! The edges that got a little too brown, were heavenly! Very moist and just delicious overall. We didn't do the glaze b/c my son doesn't like it, and they were still perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Loftis Rollins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
definitely delicious. i took the advice of others and used a little more than 1/8 C. poppy seeds (and that was a perfect amount), used 1/3 c. oil...and i used the most delicious yogurt stonybrook farms organic "lucious lemon" fruit's on the bottom-12oz) and it was amazing. cooked for 15min each in my oven (a little bit longer than others did i guess). super moist and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I love LOVE poppy seed muffins! These were great with the modifications suggested. I used 12 oz yogurt (1 lime 1 lemon), 1/8 c poppy seeds, 1/3 c oil. Now, here's where I messed up! Haha, I put the lemon juice in with the yogurt and everything, so I used 1 T lemon extract 1/3 c water and 3 T sugar for the mixture to pour over the tops:) They tasted great! Mine didn't puff up, but maybe it had to do with the altitude? or the fact that I used 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour and 1/2 almond meal instead of white flour:) Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States