Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Sorry to say but I did not enjoy these very much. They were a little on the dry side and didnt have enough lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Very good! I used two small containers of Yoplait "Lemon Burst" flavored yogurt. I also made no changes to the recipe except to half the amount of poppy seeds (1/4 cup is WAY too much AND poppy seeds are EXPENSIVE) and to add a little powdered sugar to the top. The muffins turned out a little dry in my opinion, but they were still really yummy, and oh so easy to make. I like mine warm with melted butter, and hubby likes his with cream cheese. A fantastic breakfast treat or midnight snack! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I just made these today and WOW!! Great recipe. We have been buying lemon poppyseed muffins from the grocery store and although we enjoy them, they are very greasy. I decided to try these and the only things I did different was to follow other reviewers tips to use only 1/8c. of poppyseeds and added a bit of fresh lemon juice to the batter as well. I used just a smidgen more than 1/4c of oil but I am sure the 1/3 would still be fine. I found a lemon meringue parfait flavored yogurt by Yoplait called Source Dessert Selections so that is what I used. Love the lemon juice/ sugar touch at the end. I had no problems of puddling. After they are baked, poke holes with a toothpick and brush on the juice. These were fabulouse!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
These tasted great!!! I did change things around a bit. I used about 1/4 c. of soymilk and the juice of 1-1/2 cups of real lemons rather than yogurt. I increased the oil to 1/3 cup. I added the juice of 1 lemon to the batter. I used the last half lemon and one tbsp of sugar to pour over the muffins after baking. They were really lemony and moist. This should help those of you who didn't get enough lemon taste!! It really worked. I also sprayed the muffin tins with lemon flavored baking spray rather than greasing the muffin tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
These are excellent with no changes. 1 cup of yogurt=8 oz, and 1/4 c of oil is perfect. Oh, I did use plain yogurt with 1 tsp. lemon extract cos I had the same prob finding lemon yogurt. These are worth making just the way they are. Oh, and I completely left out poppy seeds because I really don't like them. Ok, so I did change it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
These were just ok, they were bland, and didn't have much lemon taste. Needs something to make them zestier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Very good, but I intend to play with the recipe a bit more to see if I can get them to come out a bit more tender. The first time I made them I skipped the glaze and just added 1/4 cup lemon juice to the other liquids. And since lemon yogurt is unavailable where we are, I added 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract to 1 cup yogurt. Our family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
The lemon mixture makes exactly 1/2 cup of liquid, which is 2 teas of lemon mixture per muffin, not 1 tablespoon. No matter how many holes you poke in them, the lemon mixture runs right down the muffin and sits on the pan. Twenty minutes at 400 degrees makes them overdone. A quarter cup of poppy seeds is twice the amount you need......in short, an unreliable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This recipe is very good. My husband says these muffins are the best I've made. I make these with or without the poppyseeds. Actually, I make one minor change, though. I put in the lemon juice right in the batter and leave out the last little bit of sugar. I do not glaze the muffins afterwards. They are very good that way with a lot of lemon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States