Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
As a bread it was a sad failure...and I dont think I did anything wrong...but I also put it into tiny muffin tins to make mini muffins, and except for not greasing the pan enough (it has to be heavily greased) they turned out fine. I think I'll make them again. (And the batter is soooooo good....it almost didnt make it to the tin....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HDCarleton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Tastes great! Good lemon flavor. Nice poppy seed crunch. My family likes it! I'd like to see about modifying it to whole wheat to make it more healthy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is delicious! Perfect! I changed the recipe a little to make it healthier: I only used 1/4 cup of butter and I used half a cup of apple sauce instead; I also used 1.5 cups self-rising flour and 1.5 cups wheat flour; 1.5 cups brown sugar instead of 2 cups of white sugar and I used a full cup of yogurt. I also used fresh lemon juice and rind -- not bottled lemon juice. I found that 2 medium sized lemons provided exactly the right amount of juice AND rind. I have no complaints about the lemon flavour -- it's just the right strength in my opinion. I like a present but subtle lemon flavour-- not too tart or overpowering. Baked it for 50 minutes -- it was quite dark on the outside (not burnt at all, though, just very golden), but I checked it at 40 and 45 minutes and it wasn't ready yet. Will definitely make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
It fell in! I followed it exactly, and I'm no slack when it comes to baking, but the sucker caved in during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamiemommaZR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
The recipe gets 5 stars for taste but 4 stars for apperance. I doubled the recipe and made 4 loaves. The loaves didn't rise much and they sunk in the middle slightly. It may have been my mixing technique so I'll give them a try again another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I Didn't have yogurt so I used sour cream and substituted chia seeds in place of the poppy seeds. The bread turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Followed suggestions and made with 1/2 cup butter, and 1 cup yogurt. A little too much poppy seed for my taste. Will try with 1/3 cup next time. GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was fantastic! I made one loaf and twelve muffin/cupcakes using the suggestions offered in previous reviews, (ie. 1/2 cup of butter and 1 full cup of lemon yogurt, less than a 1/4 cup of poppy seeds, and the glaze suggested). The cupcakes went to everyone at work and they LOVED them, I've even had several people ask for the recipe. This one is going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reesa
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I used lemon yogurt instead of plain, and since I hate zesting lemons and was in a hurry I used 1 T of lemon extract in with the yogurt and lemon juice. I also added a few drops of yellow food coloring because the batter was not yellow at all, and it came out great - just like you buy at the store, but better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Really good. As another reviewer had said it wasn't lemony enough, I chose to make it with lemon yoghurt. I took it to a softball tournament my teenage daughter was in and the whole team loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States