Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I cut this recipe in half and it made 11 muffins. I used vegetable oil instead of butter (reduced amount as other reviewers did) and upped the amount of yogurt (also like other reviewers). The taste is lovely and my picky three year olds loved them. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a really great recipe, I will definitely make it again! The yogurt was a nice touch. I added a little more yogurt, more lemon juice, and less poppyseeds per the other suggestions. Also used half wheat flour and half white flour and still turned out well. Would be great with a glaze on top. Kudos :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
They were good. I couldnt taste the lemon, but they were still good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
As a bread it was a sad failure...and I dont think I did anything wrong...but I also put it into tiny muffin tins to make mini muffins, and except for not greasing the pan enough (it has to be heavily greased) they turned out fine. I think I'll make them again. (And the batter is soooooo good....it almost didnt make it to the tin....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HDCarleton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Tastes great! Good lemon flavor. Nice poppy seed crunch. My family likes it! I'd like to see about modifying it to whole wheat to make it more healthy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is delicious! Perfect! I changed the recipe a little to make it healthier: I only used 1/4 cup of butter and I used half a cup of apple sauce instead; I also used 1.5 cups self-rising flour and 1.5 cups wheat flour; 1.5 cups brown sugar instead of 2 cups of white sugar and I used a full cup of yogurt. I also used fresh lemon juice and rind -- not bottled lemon juice. I found that 2 medium sized lemons provided exactly the right amount of juice AND rind. I have no complaints about the lemon flavour -- it's just the right strength in my opinion. I like a present but subtle lemon flavour-- not too tart or overpowering. Baked it for 50 minutes -- it was quite dark on the outside (not burnt at all, though, just very golden), but I checked it at 40 and 45 minutes and it wasn't ready yet. Will definitely make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
It fell in! I followed it exactly, and I'm no slack when it comes to baking, but the sucker caved in during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamiemommaZR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
The recipe gets 5 stars for taste but 4 stars for apperance. I doubled the recipe and made 4 loaves. The loaves didn't rise much and they sunk in the middle slightly. It may have been my mixing technique so I'll give them a try again another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Schnare Harnish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I Didn't have yogurt so I used sour cream and substituted chia seeds in place of the poppy seeds. The bread turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States