Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Light and fluffy and delicious. I thickened up the icing slightly so it wasn't as runny. A popular choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Not sure why this recipe has only four stars because it is so darned good. I will admit though that this is much better as two loaves than it is as a bundt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leaffan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Very little lemon flavor, odd texture, and the batter fell. Threw the whole thing out and bought a lemon loaf at the grocery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I didn't realize how many lemons you would need for this recipe, I only ended up using the zest from one lemon, and it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Soooooooooo good! I followed the recipe to a T, except I used a bundt pan and increased baking time by about 40 minutes. I made a lemon juice drizzle to go on each slice as it is served. Just the right amount of lemon flavour and poppy seeds. Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Not very good, crumbly and not flavourful at all. Had too pretty much re-create the recipe the second time. Not making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
EXCELLENT, GOING TO GIVE THIS AS CHRISTMAS PRESENTS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This loaf has real flavour and was easy enough to make. However, we found the texture to be quite dry. This may be down to differences between yoghurt in America and Britain (our yoghurt tends to be thicker and richer here in the UK), or something about the recipe itself. If I made again, I'd be tempted to try the recommended alteration of increasing the yoghurt and decreasing the butter, just to see if that helps. Overall, though, lovely flavour, nice crisp texture on the outside, and I love poppy seeds, so definitely not too many for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
My Husband loves this recipe. The only change I made was using sour cream instead of yogurt as that is what I had on hand. I also cut the baking time by 5 minutes as my oven tends to run hot. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These are not rated highly enough imo. They are wonderful and moist. Lemon-flavored baked goods are the sort of thing that are subject to personal preference. Some like just a hint of lemon and then there are those who are like me - I want so much lemon that it makes me pucker up! So I add lemon extract and generously measure that 1/2 C of juice and zest. Also, I add a glaze of lemon juice and powdered sugar to the tops of the muffins when they've cooled a bit. My kids LOVE them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States