Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Very moist and was a huge hit at church coffee hour. I added and extra 1 tsp. of lemon extract, but it still wasn't lemony enough for my taste buds. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
It was a little dry. i changed things up used shaved chocolate instead of poppyseed, and added some Vanilla. Next time i will add 1/2c more yogourt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
made a bit more than i expected. very yummy, though. i added slivered almonds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
i made 12 large muffins and they turned out BEAUTIFULLY. i substituted half of the butter for applesauce to make it healthier. I also used lemon AND lime juice since i didnt have enough lemons. these muffins freeze really well...i would definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Very delicious. Exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Excellent. I follwed the recipe exactly except that I added a little lemon extract just to make sure it was lemony enough. Tasty and moist. One loaf stayed home and disappeared, one came to the office and disappeared just as quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
The recipe turned out great but did not have enough lemon flavor. Since I omitted the zest because of personal preference, I added more lemon juice but obviously not enough. Instead of making 2 loaves I made 1 plus 12 muffins. I agree that there are way to many poppy seeds. Will definitely make again just fine tune it to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Wonderfull recipe! I baked mine in a bundt pan and sifted some powdered sugar on top. My girls loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mischiefsgirl
Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Sorry, not good. I fortunately used a little over a 1/4 c poppy seeds, 1/2 cup would have been way to many. But that wasn't the problem...The texture and lack of raising were my problems with the recipe. I've made it more than once, one time doing muffins AND I followed the recipe. These were just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This cake wasn't burned but it was really dark when I took it out of the oven. I had made a couple of changes to the recipe (using only two eggs, losing the poppy seeds and adding more lemon zest) but I followed the cooking times and temperatures properly so I don't see how that could have made a difference. Anyway, to remedy this I sliced off the burnt-ish outsides, turned the cakes upside down and covered the whole thing in a glaze of lemon juice, icing sugar and a little butter. The cake soaked up the glaze so the outsides had extra sweetness, the inside was moist and tasty and the cakes smelled great. I saved one of the loafs in the fridge and had it a week later, it was just as good as when it was freshly cooked. If you're thinking of making this cake, go for it! It's very tasty and light and despite the mishap I had with the burning, I enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States