Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
This is delicious! Very nice lemon flavor. I cut the butter down to a 1/2 Cup and increased the yogurt to 1 Cup, and it still came out moist. I've been looking for a good lemon poppy recipe, and this does it for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Wonderfull recipe! I baked mine in a bundt pan and sifted some powdered sugar on top. My girls loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mischiefsgirl
Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Like other members, I also cut the butter down to half a cup and upped the yogurt to one cup. Though I baked this in two round cake tins. When they were cool, I spread a lemon glaze (1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, zest of one lemon, 3-4 tablespoons lemon juice and a little water) over the top of the bottom layer, put down the top layer and drizzled the remaining glaze. Great cake with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Seriously delightful recipe! I made 12 jumbo muffins, and had plenty of batter. It bakes up really light and lemony, great texture, not heavy like pound cake. Moist, sweet, delish! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
The recipe turned out great but did not have enough lemon flavor. Since I omitted the zest because of personal preference, I added more lemon juice but obviously not enough. Instead of making 2 loaves I made 1 plus 12 muffins. I agree that there are way to many poppy seeds. Will definitely make again just fine tune it to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I put 1/2 cup of margarine as opposed to 3/4 cup, and added a whole cup of yogurt instead. AND, it was mixed berry yogurt. Let me tell you...they were DELICIOUS. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This cake wasn't burned but it was really dark when I took it out of the oven. I had made a couple of changes to the recipe (using only two eggs, losing the poppy seeds and adding more lemon zest) but I followed the cooking times and temperatures properly so I don't see how that could have made a difference. Anyway, to remedy this I sliced off the burnt-ish outsides, turned the cakes upside down and covered the whole thing in a glaze of lemon juice, icing sugar and a little butter. The cake soaked up the glaze so the outsides had extra sweetness, the inside was moist and tasty and the cakes smelled great. I saved one of the loafs in the fridge and had it a week later, it was just as good as when it was freshly cooked. If you're thinking of making this cake, go for it! It's very tasty and light and despite the mishap I had with the burning, I enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is good, but I wish it had more lemon flavor. I even added some lemon extract. But it was still good. I used half whole wheat pasty flour and half applesauce for the oil. I made half the batch into mini muffins (24) and my kids just ate them up- they loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I tried out this recipe this morning- it took a while to prepare and put together, but 10 minutes after it was put in the oven the apartment smelled like lemon-cream. It was delicious! Unlike many people that reviewed this recipe- I followed it to a T. I figure its better to try it, and then make adjustments that I see fit. I DID notice that it took longer than the 50 minutes in the oven, the middle was still liquid-y when I checked it at 45min. I left it in for a bit over an hour, then was scared that the edges would be a little burnt. We've enjoyed a slice already since then- it was beautiful. Im just hoping it doesnt dry out too quickly- if it does, dont worry- I'll let you know!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allpurpose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
I halved this recipe and made it into 11 muffins instead of one loaf. They tasted so good! I tend to stick with the popular recipes, so it was a pleasant surprise that a recipe that didn't have a zillion reviews still turned out to be so yummy and worthwhile making. :-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States