Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2000
I've looked through aa mountain of books looking for this recipe. My husband thought that this was my best cake ever. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
I ususally avoid recipes that involve creaming butter and sugar together, as too time consuming. But this one really wasn't. Once you've done the creaming the rest of the recipe is very quick and easy. The loaves didn't rise as much as I thought it would but it was delicious. A delicate lemon flavour, and lots of poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
I halved this recipe and made it into 11 muffins instead of one loaf. They tasted so good! I tend to stick with the popular recipes, so it was a pleasant surprise that a recipe that didn't have a zillion reviews still turned out to be so yummy and worthwhile making. :-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
This is delicious! Very nice lemon flavor. I cut the butter down to a 1/2 Cup and increased the yogurt to 1 Cup, and it still came out moist. I've been looking for a good lemon poppy recipe, and this does it for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
This is wonderful. Everyone loves it. Anytime there is a gathering at work I am asked to bring it. It's the best lemon poppy bread I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Next time I'll add more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is a nice lemony cake, great fresh out of the oven or even two weeks later! I was looking for a lemon poppy seed loaf recipe after getting a free sample at William Sonoma. I thought for sure I could find a recipe as good as theirs and make my own for much cheaper. This is the recipe! It was very simple to make and turned out well. I added more lemon zest because I like it. Way to go Irene, this recipe is a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Maybe it was my baking soda, but this didn't rise like I had hoped. Also, Verrrry poppy-seedy, which might have accounted for the heaviness. I added a lemon glaze, as I agreed with a previous reviewer that it could have had a more lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
Really nice moist loaf - needs a little more lemon flavour for my taste - doubling the lemon zest will do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
This recipe was easy to make and oh so delicious!! Perfect with coffee, with breakfast or as a snack. Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States