Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I Didn't have yogurt so I used sour cream and substituted chia seeds in place of the poppy seeds. The bread turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Followed suggestions and made with 1/2 cup butter, and 1 cup yogurt. A little too much poppy seed for my taste. Will try with 1/3 cup next time. GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was fantastic! I made one loaf and twelve muffin/cupcakes using the suggestions offered in previous reviews, (ie. 1/2 cup of butter and 1 full cup of lemon yogurt, less than a 1/4 cup of poppy seeds, and the glaze suggested). The cupcakes went to everyone at work and they LOVED them, I've even had several people ask for the recipe. This one is going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reesa Moorman
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I used lemon yogurt instead of plain, and since I hate zesting lemons and was in a hurry I used 1 T of lemon extract in with the yogurt and lemon juice. I also added a few drops of yellow food coloring because the batter was not yellow at all, and it came out great - just like you buy at the store, but better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa Moorman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Really good. As another reviewer had said it wasn't lemony enough, I chose to make it with lemon yoghurt. I took it to a softball tournament my teenage daughter was in and the whole team loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlena C.
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Moist and lemon-y ... exactly what I was looking for! I wanted a distinct lemon flavor, so after reading other reviews, I used the zest of 3 large lemons, along with their juice (equalling almost 1 cup of lemon juice). I also dusted the bottom of my pans with white sugar, so that they would have a sweet crust. My loaves were perfectly done in 40 minutes, so you might want to keep an eye on them towards the end of baking. A fantastic recipe! Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Super lemon poppy loaf...and I have tried a few. Lemon flavor was just right and it went very well with the Microwave Lemon Curd (recipe from Allrecipe.com). Highly recommend it...no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Adana, Adana, Turkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe. My favorite sweet bread by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Excellent loaf. Followed recipe exactly but subsituted yogurt for low-fat sour cream. I used 1/4 cup of poppy seeds but could have even used slightly less. Cake came out light and fluffy - Half way through baking I placed foil over loaves to prevent over browning. Highly recommend trying this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
One word, beautiful. So yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States